Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
ZIP SEARCH:  go  
Side Ad - Harris County Connect



 
Sunrise Hike
Sunday, Feb 7, 2016 7 AM to 8 AM
Sunday, Mar 6, 2016 6:30 AM to 7:30 AM
Sunday, Apr 17, 2016 6:30 AM to 7:30 AM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Join us for an early morning hike to watch the sunrise. Bring water with you and meet at the day use area. Call ahead to reserve your spot.  $5 plus $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Discover Tallulah Gorge's Hidden Gems
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 11 AM to 12 PM
Saturday, Mar 12, 2016 11 AM to 1:30 PM
Saturday, Apr 16, 2016 12 PM to 2:30 PM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
A series of 12 hidden gems events will will take place in 2016. Each month will offer a unique event ranging from easy hikes to strenuous ones to paddling on a lake. Click this event for details. Please sign up in advance for the events. $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors GeorgiaHidden Gem
Full-Moon Suspension Bridge Hike
Monday, Feb 22, 2016 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 23, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
Thursday, Apr 21, 2016 7:45 PM to 9:45 PM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Enjoy a 1 mile hike that takes you down the stairs, across the suspension bridge and on the rim of the gorge under the full moon. Register in advance.  $5 plus $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunset Easter Egg Hunt
Friday, Mar 25, 2016 6:30 PM to 8 PM
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Join us at the Jane Hurt Yarn Interpretive Center as we celebrate Easter with an Egg hunt at sunset. Egg hunt starts at 7pm. For children ages 0-12 $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Whitewater-Watching Hike
Saturday, Apr 2, 2016 11 AM to 3 PM
Sunday, Apr 3, 2016 11 AM to 3 PM
Saturday, Apr 9, 2016 11 AM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Hike down to Bridal Veil Falls to watch brave souls whitewater paddle the Tallulah River. The water flowing through the gorge will be much stronger than usual, making the falls even more beautiful. Bring a snack and lots of water. The hike is strenuous. Register in advance.  $15 plus $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Full Moon Lake Paddle
Friday, Apr 22, 2016 8:45 PM to 10:45 PM
Friday, May 20, 2016 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Saturday, May 21, 2016 8:30 PM to 10:30 PM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Enjoy a relaxing paddle around Tallulah lake as the full moon reflects off the water. This ranger-led event is an exciting way to get out in the evenings and enjoy nature. Space is limited, so register in advance.  $15 plus $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Slackline 101
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 5 PM to 7 PM
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 5 PM to 7 PM
Wednesday, Jun 1, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Join us for a unique opportunity to learn the basics of walking on a Slackline at the site of Karl Wallenda’s 1970 crossing of the Gorge. No experience necessary, just bring a pair of comfortable shoes and your balance! Ages 12 and up. Space is limited so call ahead to reserve your spot.  $5 per person $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Gorge Floor Hike
Saturday, May 28, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM
Sunday, May 29, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM
Monday, May 30, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Explore this stunning gorge with a ranger-led hike. First travel down 535 steps to a river crossing, then climb boulders and logs to get to Sliding Rock. Wear your swimsuit if you want to cool off in the natural slide. Bring water, lunch and snacks. space is limited register in advance  $10 plus $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Witches Head Hike
Saturday, Jun 11, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
Saturday, Jun 25, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
Saturday, Jul 23, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
More Dates...
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
This guided hike will take you to the bottom of the dam to view the witch's head rock and enjoy a relaxing lunch. Bring lots of water, lunch and proper foot wear. Children must be 8 or older no pets. Register in advance.  $5 per a person $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Family Paddle
Wednesday, Jun 22, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Wednesday, Jul 13, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Join us for a relaxing family paddle around Tallulah Lake. Kids age 2 and up are welcome, all children must be accompanied by an adult. Space is limited so call to reserve your spot.  $15 plus $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Hike Bike Bash
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 10 AM to 2 PM
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
We will be doing a guided hike as well as a bike ride on our paved shortline trail. You can choose to do either one of the activities or both. The hike starts at 10, lunch at noon, and biking at 1pm. We will not be providing bicycles, and all riders must wear a helmet... $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Jail Tales Trail
Friday, Oct 21, 2016 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Participants will begin at the old jail house where there will be storytelling, then walk from the beginning of the Shortline Trail to a bonfire at the suspension bridge, where they'll enjoy roasting marshmallows and a hayride. The last walk beings at 8:30. $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Trunk or Treat for Halloween
Monday, Oct 31, 2016 5:30 PM to 7 PM
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Park visitors can decorate their cars and hand out treats to children as they walk from car to car. Games will be provided for children while cars are being decorated. Prizes will be awarded for cars and costumes... $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Walk Off The Turkey with a hike
Friday, Nov 25, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM
Presenter/Location: Tallulah Gorge State Park
Take a guided hike through the gorge floor to work off those extra pounds you acquired over Thanksgiving. This hike is strenuous and involves climbing over and under rocks and logs, jumping from rock to rock, and possibly getting your feet wet. Participants must be 10 or older. Register in advance.  $5 plus $5 parking. 706-754-7981.
Get Outdoors Georgia
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks