Wildflower Walks Celebrate Spring Blooms in Georgia’s State Parks

ATLANTA, February 22, 2017 - Longer days, warmer weather and colorful blooms are sure signs of Spring’s arrival. To celebrate the season, Georgia State Park rangers are hosting a series of guided wildflower walks that provide a close look at blooms such as Canada Violet, Trout Lily, Wild Azalea, Spring Beauty, Foamflower, Trillium, Indian Pink and Buckeye. For details on Georgia State Park wildflower walks and other events, visit www.GeorgiaStateParks.org/events. Below are a few of the wildflower hikes currently scheduled.

2017 Spring Wildflower Walks
 
Sweetwater Creek State Park, Lithia Springs
Late Winter/Early Spring Wildflower Hikes
Saturday, February 25, (3 - 4:30 p.m.)
Saturday, March 4, (2 - 4 p.m.)
Sunday, March 5, (4 - 6 p.m.)
Sunday, March 26, (3:30 - 5:30 p.m.)
Sunday, April 2, (1 - 3 p.m.)
This 2-mile hike will be moderately strenuous and will pass through beautiful wildflower habitats. Early favorites typically seen are Hepatica, Bloodroot, Wild Geranium, Wild Iris, Sorrel, and Green and Gold. Visitors may see up to 30 flower species on ranger-led hikes. Meet in the Interpretive Center, wear good hiking shoes and bring water. $5 plus $5 parking.
770-732-5876
 
Cloudland Canyon State Park, Trenton
Wildflower Hikes
Wednesday, March 15, (10 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, March 18, (10 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Monday, March 20, (10 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, March 25, (2  - 4 p.m.)
Sunday, March 26, (2  - 4 p.m.)
Tuesday, March 28, (2  - 4 p.m.)
Monday, April 3, (10 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Wednesday, April 5, (2  - 4 p.m.)
Friday, April 7, (10 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, April 8, (2  - 4 p.m.)
Wednesday, April 12, (10 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, April 15, (2  - 4 p.m.)
Wednesday, April 19, (10 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Take a walk through Sitton's Gulch to observe the abundance of blooming wildflowers in the park’s limestone-rich soil. Using a checklist and identification books, identify and record many of the species in bloom. We will hike 1 mile on a flat trail by the river. Ages 10 and older. Reservations required.
Wildflower identification book available for pre-order. $5 parking.
706-913-7170
 
Panola Mountain State Park – Stockbridge
Guided Mountain Hike and Wildflowers
Saturday, March 4, 2017 (1 p.m. - 4 p.m.)
Sunday, March 12, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Sunday, March 26, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, April 1, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, April 15, 2017 (1 p.m. - 4 p.m.)
Sunday, April 23, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, April 29, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Sunday, May 7, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
 Saturday, May 13, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Sunday, May 21, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Saturday, May 27, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Sunday, May 28, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Monday, May 29, 2017 (9 a.m. - 12 p.m.)
Wonder why Panola Mountain is a restricted area? Come on a guided hike for a look at the granite mountain’s ecology and see how outcrop plants scrape out a living in this harsh environment. We’ll look for Diamorpha, Carolina Jessamine, Atamasco Lily and Trout Lily, depending on dates. Wear sturdy hiking shoes and bring water. Register in advance. Ages 10 and older for this moderately strenuous hike. $5 plus $5 parking.  
770-389-7801
 
Seminole State Park - Donalsonville
Mother's Day Wildflower Hike
Saturday, May 13, (11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.)
Celebrate mothers and the return of spring. This short hike will showcase some of the beautiful wildflowers in bloom in our wetland ecosystem. Meet at the office 30 minutes before the hike. Bring water and bug spray. Close-toed shoes are advised, but not required. We will meet at the Park Office and drive to trail. $5 plus $5 parking.
229-861-3137
 
 
 
-END-