Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Panola Mountain State Park

NOTICE: Until further notice, the Upper Alexander Lake dam is closed to all foot and cycle traffic for repair. For the safety of all guests, please remain off the dam. Path usage and fishing is still encouraged on the upper half of the Alexander Lake Loop. Please call the park office for questions.
A NATIONAL HERITAGE AREA
Check Last Minute Availability
"Home to a rare, pristine monadnock, Panola Mountain State Park provides you an oasis near Metro Atlanta to play, unwind, learn or discover the diverse natural and cultural heritage of the piedmont region."

Just 15 minutes from Atlanta is a recreational haven for all ages and interests.  Visitors can picnic while children work off energy on the playground.  The park  offers archery, boat rental, geocaching, orienteering, birding and tree-climbing programs.  A paved trail is open for biking, roller blading, jogging and dog-walking, while forested fitness trails are open for hiking and running.
 
Panola Mountain is a 100-acre granite outcrop similar to Stone Mountain, but smaller and much more pristine.  Park visitors will see the outcrop and its rare ecosystem just as Native Americans did centuries ago.  Reservations are required for ranger-led hikes that teach about the rare plants and animals found in this habitat.  
 
Panola Mountain State Park is the crown jewel of the Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area, one of only three National Heritage Areas in the state. The park’s unusual natural beauty and intriguing cultural changes are the basis for this special recognition. Over the years, this area has been home to early settlers, immigrant rock cutters, freed slaves and even Trappist monks. Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area is a partnership among the state of Georgia; DeKalb, Henry and Rockdale counties; the Monastery of the Holy Spirit; and numerous communities and public-private partners. Panola has also been designated a National Natural Landmark. Learn more at www.arabiaalliance.org.
 
   Panola Mountain State Park Business Plan

Holiday Elf Hike
Saturday, Dec 17, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Stewardship Saturday
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

Secrets of the Mountain Wilderness Hike
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 9:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Indoor Basic Archery
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Intermediate Archery
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Valentine's Day Cupid Shoot
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 5 PM - 7 PM
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 5 PM - 7 PM

Valentine's Day Couples Hike
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Advanced Archery Class
Sunday, Feb 14, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Home School Thursdays
Thursday, Feb 18, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Saturday Mountain Hike
Saturday, Feb 20, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Intro to Tree Climbing
Saturday, Feb 20, 2016 1 PM - 5 PM

Moonlight Mountain Hike
Saturday, Feb 20, 2016 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Monadnock Madness 2016
Tuesday, Mar 1, 2016 - Thursday, Mar 31, 2016

Triple Hike Challenge: Monadnock Madness
Tuesday, Mar 1, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

Friends of Panola Mountain Hike
Wednesday, Mar 2, 2016 10 AM - 12:30 PM

Landscape, Macro, and Wildlife Photography 101
Sunday, Mar 6, 2016 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Arabia/Panola Bike Ride
Sunday, Mar 6, 2016 10:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Atlanta Audubon Society Bird Walk at Vaughter's Farm
Friday, Mar 11, 2016 8 AM - 10 AM

Reptile Day at Panola Mountain
Saturday, Mar 12, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Eggciting Hike Hunt
Saturday, Mar 26, 2016 10 AM - 11 AM

3rd Annual Archery Tournament
Saturday, Apr 9, 2016 8 AM

Rivers Alive Cleanup
Saturday, Apr 9, 2016 9 AM

Junior Ranger Day Camp
Monday, Jun 6, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

Outdoor Adventure Camp
Monday, Jun 20, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

Archery Camp
Monday, Jun 27, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

4th of July Fireworks Hike
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 8 PM - 11 PM

Dog Days of Summer - Dog Day in the Park
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM

ZZZ's in the Trees - Canopy Camping
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 7 PM

Wildflowers in the Pasture - Your State Parks Day
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

Trunk-O-Treat for Halloween
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Turkey Trek Night Hike
Saturday, Nov 19, 2016 5 PM - 8 PM




Address
2620 Highway 155, SW
Stockbridge, GA 30281


GPS Coordinates:
N 33.623400 | W -084.172800

Located 18 miles southeast of Atlanta on Ga. Hwy. 155 via I-20 exit #68.

Phone
(770) 389-7801

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks