Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains

Panola Mountain State Park

 
Check Last Minute Availability
A National Heritage Area
» Program Notice: 
 Due to the popularity of our programs, all require advanced registration. Call to schedule a private event for your group.
 Group Contracts:
Archery
Educational
Recreational
Tree Climbing
Adult Waiver Release Form
Minor Waiver Release Form
"Home to a rare, pristine monadnock, Panola Mountain State Park provides you an oasis near Metro Atlanta to play, unwind, learn or discover the diverse natural and cultural heritage of the piedmont region."

Just 15 minutes from Atlanta is a recreational haven for all ages and interests. Visitors can picnic while children work off energy on the playground. The park offers archery, boat rental, geocaching, orienteering, birding and tree-climbing programs. A paved trail is open for biking, roller blading, jogging and dog-walking, while forested fitness trails are open for hiking and running.
 
Panola Mountain is a 100-acre granite outcrop similar to Stone Mountain, but smaller and much more pristine.  Park visitors will see the outcrop and its rare ecosystem just as Native Americans did centuries ago. Reservations are required for ranger-led hikes that teach about the rare plants and animals found in this habitat.  
 
Panola Mountain State Park is the crown jewel of the Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area, one of only three National Heritage Areas in the state. The park’s unusual natural beauty and intriguing cultural changes are the basis for this special recognition. Over the years, this area has been home to early settlers, immigrant rock cutters, freed slaves and even Trappist monks. Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area is a partnership among the state of Georgia, DeKalb, Henry and Rockdale counties, the Monastery of the Holy Spirit, and numerous communities and public-private partners. Panola has also been designated a National Natural Landmark. Learn more at www.arabiaalliance.org.

Holiday Elf Hike
Saturday, Dec 17, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Friends of Panola Mountain Hike
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Saturday Mountain Hike
Saturday, May 7, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Wildflowers in the Pasture
Saturday, May 7, 2016 9 AM
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

Indoor Basic Archery
Saturday, May 14, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, May 7, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Advanced Archery Class
Saturday, May 14, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM
Saturday, May 7, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Intermediate Archery
Sunday, May 8, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Home School Thursdays
Thursday, May 19, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Intro to Tree Climbing
Saturday, May 21, 2016 1 PM - 5 PM
Saturday, May 21, 2016 1 PM

Creature Feature - Kids to Parks Day
Saturday, May 21, 2016 2 PM - 3 PM

Moonlight Mountain Hike
Saturday, May 21, 2016 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Panola Mountain State Park 10k/5k - National Trails Day
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 8 AM

Morning Mountain Hike - National Trails Day
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Junior Ranger Day Camp
Monday, Jun 6, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

Frog Slog - National Get Outdoors Day
Saturday, Jun 11, 2016 1 PM - 3 PM

Night Owl 5K - A.W.A.R.E.
Saturday, Jun 18, 2016 3:30 PM

Outdoor Adventure Camp
Monday, Jun 20, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

Archery Camp
Monday, Jun 27, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM
Tuesday, Jun 28, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM
Thursday, Jun 30, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM
Friday, Jul 1, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

4th of July Fireworks Hike
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 8 PM - 11 PM

Dog Days of Summer - Dog Day in the Park
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM

Secrets of the Mountain Wilderness Hike
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 9:30 AM - 3:30 PM

ZZZ's in the Trees - Canopy Camping
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 7 PM

Trunk-O-Treat for Halloween
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Turkey Trek Night Hike
Saturday, Nov 19, 2016 5 PM - 8 PM




Address
2620 Highway 155 SW
Stockbridge, GA 30281

Directions

GPS Coordinates:

N 33.623400 | W -084.172800


Located 18 miles southeast of Atlanta on Highway 155 via I-20 exit #68.

Phone
(770) 389-7801

 
Free Mobile Application Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks