Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Skidaway Island State Park


Check Last Minute Availability

Located near historic Savannah, this park borders Skidaway narrows, a part of Georgia’s intracoastal waterway. Trails wind through maritime forest and past salt marsh, leading to a boardwalk and observation tower. Visitors can watch for deer, fiddler crabs, raccoon, egrets and other wildlife. Inside the park’s interpretive center, birders will find binoculars, reference books and a window where they can look for migrating species such as Painted Buntings. Children will especially enjoy seeing the towering, 20-foot Giant Ground Sloth replica and reptile room. 
 
A scenic campground is nestled under live oaks and Spanish moss, and some RV sites have sewer hookups. Leashed pets are allowed.  Groups can enjoy privacy in their own pioneer campgrounds. Open-air picnic shelters and an enclosed group shelter are popular spots for parties, reunions and other celebrations. For cooling off during summer, Tybee Island's beaches are less than an hour away.

The park’s new camper cabins offer screened porches, air conditioning, a bathroom with shower, kitchen, master bedroom and kids’ sleeping loft. Guests bring their own linens, towels, dishes and cooking utensils. Outside, visitors will find a picnic table, grill and fire ring.  Pets are not allowed.


   School Programs at Skidaway Island

   Skidaway Island State Park Business Plan


GPS Coordinates:
N 31.9493100 | W -81.053710

Located 15 miles southeast of Savannah on Diamond Causeway. Turn left at the first traffic light on Skidaway Island to enter the park. Please note that some GPS devices will miss this important turn.
From North of Savannah via I-95 South
From North of Savannah via US-17 South
From South of Savannah via I-95 North
From West of Savannah via I-16 East

Bird Hike and Dinner Time
Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 9 AM

Insects Galore
Wednesday, Apr 23, 2014 1 PM

Toddler Time and Sandpiper Trail Hike
Thursday, Apr 24, 2014 10 AM

Reptile Show, Roving Ranger, and Call of the Wild
Friday, Apr 25, 2014 2 PM

Big Ferry Guided Hike, Roving Ranger, and Campfire & S'mores
Saturday, Apr 26, 2014 2 PM

Skull Identification
Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 2 PM

Wilderness Survival
Wednesday, Apr 30, 2014 2 PM

Skidaway Narrows Clean Up
Saturday, May 3, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM

Bike Rodeo
Saturday, May 10, 2014 10 AM - 1 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Junior Ranger Camp
Monday, Jun 2, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jun 23, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jul 14, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Tuesday, Jul 8, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jul 28, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jul 14, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jun 2, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jun 23, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jul 14, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Monday, Jul 28, 2014 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Haunted Trail
Friday, Oct 24, 2014 - Saturday, Oct 25, 2014 7:30 PM - 9 PM

Fall-oween Family Fun Day
Sunday, Oct 26, 2014 1 PM

Luminary Night with Santa
Saturday, Dec 13, 2014 6 PM - 8 PM




Address
52 Diamond Cswy
Savannah, GA 31411
(MapQuest)


Phone
(912) 598-2300

 
Free Mobile App!Tons of Fun eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks