Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Red Top Mountain State Park

NOTICE: The Iron Hill Trail is only partially open. The boardwalk is closed and not passable from either side due to recent storm damage.

Check Last Minute Availability
"At Red Top Mountain State Park you can connect with the natural beauty of Lake Allatoona and explore the iron mining tradition & history of the Etowah Valley."

This popular park on Lake Allatoona is ideal for swimming, water skiing and fishing.  Visitors can bring their own boats or rent from nearby marinas. A sand swimming beach is nestled in a cove and surrounded by trees, providing a great place to cool off during summer.  Picnic shelters and group shelters may be rented for meetings, parties, reunions and other celebrations.  Guests often stay overnight in rental cottages, a spacious campground, or the park’s lakeside yurt.  

 While best known for the 12,000-acre lake, Red Top Mountain is also a hiker’s haven.  More than 15 miles of trails wind through the forested park, providing opportunities for exercise and nature photography. A short, paved trail behind the park office is suitable for wheelchairs and strollers, welcoming guests to explore a reconstructed 1860s homestead.  The gravel-topped 4-mile Iron Hill Trail is open to both hikers and bikers, offering pretty views of the lake’s shoreline.

Named for the soil’s rich red color caused by high iron-ore content, Red Top Mountain was once an important mining area. Iron pour programs are occasionally held near the Vaughan Cabin behind the park office.
   Educational Group Programs
   Red Top Mountain State Park Business Plan

Tracks and Trails of Red Top Animals
Friday, Feb 12, 2016 4 PM - 5 PM

Campfire Tales
Friday, Feb 12, 2016 7:45 PM - 8:15 PM

Stars of Red Top (Star Gazing) & Hot Chocolate
Friday Every Week until Nov. 20, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Friday, Feb 12, 2016 8:15 PM - 10 PM

Don't get Lost, get into Orienteering
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 10 AM - 11 AM

Wilderness Survival Skills
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 4:30 PM - 5:30 PM

Craft a Critter - Create an Animal Puppet
Sunday Every Week from Feb 14, 2016 until Feb. 28, 2016 11 AM - 12 PM

Sip of Tea & Stretch Overlooking Lake Allatoona
Sunday Every Week from Feb 14, 2016 until Mar. 27, 2016 1:30 PM - 2 PM

Atlanta Audubon: Birding For Beginners
Saturday, Feb 20, 2016 8 AM - 9 AM

Clicks in the Night, a Batty Experience
Saturday, Feb 20, 2016 5:30 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 - Monday, Apr 25, 2016 3 PM - 4 AM

Archery at Red Top Mountain
Saturday, Mar 5, 2016 10 AM - 11 AM

Red Top's Reptiles
Saturday, Mar 5, 2016 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Hills of Iron and Iron Pour
Saturday, Mar 19, 2016 11 AM
Saturday, Mar 19, 2016 11 AM

Hidden Gem Series: Secrets of Homestead Trail
Saturday, May 28, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Apr 23, 2016 12 PM - 2 PM

Help make Red Top Park's Flowers Grow
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 10 AM - 11 AM
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 10 AM - 11 AM

Imagination Playground
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 12 PM - 5 PM
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 12 PM - 5 PM

Perplexed by Pollinators?
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 1 PM - 2 PM

How to make the Honey
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 2 PM - 3 PM

Earth's Heritage of Seeds
Sunday, Apr 24, 2016 4 PM - 5 PM

Spring at the Homestead
Saturday, Apr 30, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

Hidden Gem Series: Secrets of Iron Hill Trail
Saturday, May 14, 2016 3 PM - 5 PM

Junior Ranger Camp Ages 7-9 Beginner
Tuesday, Jun 14, 2016 - Friday, Jun 17, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Junior Ranger Camp Ages 7-9 Intermediate
Tuesday, Jun 21, 2016 - Friday, Jun 24, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Junior Ranger Ages 10-12 Beginner
Tuesday, Jul 19, 2016 - Friday, Jul 22, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Junior Ranger Camp Ages 10-12 Intermediate
Tuesday, Jul 26, 2016 - Friday, Jul 29, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Harvest Time at the Homestead
Saturday, Sep 17, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

Iron Pour
Saturday, Nov 19, 2016 2 PM - 10 PM

Christmas at the Cabin
Saturday, Dec 10, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM




Address
50 Lodge Rd SE
Acworth, GA 30102
(MapQuest)


GPS Coordinates:
N 34.142950, W -084.706700

Located 45 minutes north of Atlanta near Cartersville, 1.5 miles east of I-75 exit #285.
Directions to Allatoona Pass Battlefield: From Red Top Mountain, take I-75 South to Exit 283. Turn left. Allatoona Pass will be on the left.


Phone
(770) 975-0055
(770) 975-4226

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks