Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Fort McAllister State Park



Check Last Minute Availability

Located south of Savannah on the banks of the Ogeechee River, this scenic park showcases the best-preserved earthwork fortification of the Confederacy. The earthworks were attacked seven times by Union ironclads but did not fall until 1864 -- ending Gen. William T. Sherman’s “March to the Sea.”  Visitors can explore the grounds with cannons, a furnace, bombproof, barracks, palisades and more, while a Civil War museum contains artifacts, a video and gift shop.
 
Nestled among giant live oaks, Spanish moss and salt marsh, this park is a beautiful location for camping, fishing, boating and picnicking. Seven cabins sit on stilts near the marsh, surrounded by palm trees and palmettos. The shaded campground is bordered by tidal Redbird Creek, a boat ramp, fishing dock and nature trail.  A large picnic area offers river views and playgrounds, while another boat ramp provides access to the Ogeechee River.

 
   Fort McAllister State Park Business Plan

Morning With A Ranger
Saturday Every Week from Feb 13, 2016 until Feb. 28, 2016 9 AM - 10 AM

Ballistic for Bocce
Saturday Every Week from Feb 13, 2016 until Feb. 28, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Valentine's Civil War Dinner and Dance
Saturday, Feb 13, 2016 5 PM - 8 PM

Black Powder Safety Officer Training
Monday, Feb 22, 2016 - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2016 8 AM - 5 PM

Cadet Girl Scout night hike
Friday, Feb 26, 2016 6 PM - 7 PM

McAllister's Secret Freshwater Sloughs
Saturday, Mar 19, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

Easter Egg Hunt
Saturday, Mar 26, 2016 2 PM - 3 PM

Civil War Trust Volunteer Day
Saturday, Apr 2, 2016 9 AM - 4 PM

Earth Day Celebration
Saturday, Apr 23, 2016 9 AM - 3 PM

Mother's Day Paddle
Saturday, May 14, 2016 9 AM - 11 AM

Memorial Day Commemoration
Saturday, May 28, 2016 9 AM - 4 PM

National Trails Day
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

Junior Ranger Camp #1
Monday, Jun 13, 2016 9 AM - 2 PM

Father's Day Weekend Camp-Out and Campfire
Friday, Jun 17, 2016 8 AM - 8 PM

Independence Day Celebration
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 9 AM - 4 PM

Junior Ranger Camp #2
Monday, Jul 11, 2016 9 AM - 2 PM

Civil War Olympics
Saturday, Aug 6, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Labor Day Celebration at the Fort
Saturday, Sep 3, 2016 9 AM - 4 PM

Civil War Candle Lantern Tour
Saturday, Oct 8, 2016 7 PM - 10 PM

Savage Scares at Camp Chiller
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 7 PM - 9 PM




Address
3894 Fort McAllister Road
Richmond Hill, GA 31324


GPS Coordinates:
N 31.888583 | W -081.200883

Located 10 miles east of I-95 on Ga. Spur 144 (take I-95 exit #90).

Phone
(912) 727-2339

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks