Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Hard Labor Creek State Park


Check Last Minute Availability

BURN NOTICE:  Starting February 23, staff will be on standby for favorable weather conditions to conduct a controlled burn at the park.  The purpose is for ecological benefits and fuel reduction.  The Blue (Rutledge) horse trail and corresponding loops will be closed for safety reasons. 

While this park may be best known for its golf course, it also offers a wide range of recreational opportunities in a beautiful wooded setting. A lakeside beach is popular with swimmers during summer months, and more than 24 miles of trails are available for hikers and horseback riders.  Horse owners even have their own private camping area near stalls. Other overnight guests can choose from fully equipped cottages or a modern campground.  With so many ways to relax, it is ironic that the park’s name is thought to come from slaves who tilled summer fields or American Indians who found the creek difficult to cross.
 
Located between Madison and Covington off I-20, The Creek Golf Course provides one of Georgia’s best golf values, along with a pro shop, driving range, rental carts and special rates for seniors and children. The 18-hole course is a favorite for its challenging layout and well maintained greens combined with a pristine, natural setting. The first hole has been called "the hardest starting hole in Georgia.”

Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
 
   Hard Labor Creek State Park Business Plan

Get Outdoors Georgia Bike Trails Work and Ride
Saturday, Mar 14, 2015 9 AM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Equestrian Workday
Saturday, Mar 14, 2015 9:30 AM - 3 PM

New Moon Kayak Tour
Friday, Mar 20, 2015 7:30 PM - 9 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Atlanta Audubon Beginners bird walk
Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 2 PM - 4 PM

Home School At Hard Labor
Wednesday, Mar 25, 2015 1:30 PM - 3 PM

Full Moon Kayak Tour
Friday, Apr 3, 2015 7:30 PM - 9 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Hard Labor Creek Volunteer Saturday
Saturday, Mar 14, 2015 10 AM - 1 PM
Saturday, Apr 18, 2015 3 PM - 4:30 PM

Astronomy Day - Night Time Paddle
Saturday, Apr 25, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Mother's Day Twilight Paddle
Sunday, May 10, 2015 8 PM - 9:30 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
National Kids to Parks Day New Moon Paddle
Friday, May 15, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Saturday, May 16, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Memorial Day Night Paddle
Friday, May 22, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
National Trails Day - Audubon " Intro to Birding" walk
Saturday, Jun 6, 2015 3 PM - 5 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Frogging (and other night sounds) by Kayak
Saturday, Jun 6, 2015 8 PM - 9:30 PM

Junor Ranger Day Camp
Tuesday, Jun 9, 2015 9 AM - 3 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
"Get Outdoors" Star Gazing Kayak Tour
Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Friday, Jun 19, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM

Father's Day Paddle
Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 8 PM - 9:30 PM

Perseids "Shooting Star" Party
Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 - Friday, Aug 14, 2015 10 PM - 3 AM

Paddle Under the Perseids - Meteor Kayak Tour
Friday, Aug 14, 2015 10 PM - 11 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Dirty Spokes Trail Run
Saturday, Sep 5, 2015 7 AM - 10 AM

Labor Day Weekend Night Kayak
Saturday, Sep 5, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Sunday, Sep 6, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Total Lunar Eclipse Paddle
Sunday, Sep 27, 2015 8 PM - 10:30 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Spooky Wagon Ride
Saturday, Oct 24, 2015 7 PM - 10 PM




Address
5 Hard Labor Creek Road
Rutledge, GA 30663


GPS Coordinates:
N 33.6549850 | W -83.596848

Located 2 miles north of Rutledge. Take I-20 exit #105 into Rutledge and proceed 3 miles on Fairplay Road.

Phone
(706) 557-3001
(706) 557-3006

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks