Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Cloudland Canyon State Park

Check Last Minute Availability
PARTICIPATE IN OUR PHOTO CONTEST . . .

Located on the western edge of Lookout Mountain, this is one of the most scenic parks in the state, offering rugged geology and exceptional hiking.  The park straddles a deep gorge cut into the mountain by Sitton Gulch Creek, and elevation differs from 800 to 1,980 feet.  Overnight guests can choose from new yurts, cottages near the canyon edge, a modern campground and spacious, walk-in tent sites.  Backpackers can enjoy camping in a hemlock grove on the 2-mile Backcountry Loop.  
 
The most spectacular view into the canyon is an easy walk from the picnic area; however, hikers can also explore a rim trail or journey to the canyon floor by a series of staircases.  Two waterfalls cascade over layers of sandstone and shale into pools below, with their flow depending on recent rains. This Waterfalls Trail is part of the popular Canyon Climbers Club.  Backpackers, mountain bikers and equestrians can explore several miles on the Cloudland Connector Trail.

Georgia Girl Guides is an onsite outfitter that offers guided hikes and family friendly cave tours.  The park’s caving trips are perfect for groups and adventure seekers who want to get muddy, wet and experience a wild cave. Different tours are offered throughout the year, and reservations are required. Reservations required: 706-913-7170.


   School Programs at Cloudland Canyon

   Cloudland Canyon State Park Business Plan

Get Outdoors Georgia Wild Cave Tour
Sunday, Jun 1, 2014 10 AM
Tuesday, Jul 1, 2014 10 AM
Tuesday, Sep 2, 2014 10 AM
Wednesday, Oct 1, 2014 10 AM
Wednesday, Apr 23, 2014 10 AM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Wilderness Survival: Primitive Fire Making
Monday, May 5, 2014 11 AM - 2 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Mother's Day Hike with Mother Nature
Saturday, May 10, 2014 2 PM - 5 PM
Sunday, May 11, 2014 2 PM - 5 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Women's Wilderness Exploration
Friday, May 30, 2014 6 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday the 13th Full Moon Hike
Friday, Jun 13, 2014 8 PM - 11 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Wilderness Survival: Knot Tying
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 3 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Wilderness Survival: Basic Survival Skills
Friday, Jun 27, 2014 10 AM - 3 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Camp Cloudland Canyon: Junior Adventurer Week
Monday, Jul 14, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Camp Cloudland Canyon: High Adventure Week
Monday, Jul 28, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM




Address
122 Cloudland Canyon Park Rd.
Rising Fawn, GA 30738
(MapQuest)


GPS Coordinates:
N 34.8402630 | W -85.4828810

Located on Ga. Route 136, 8 miles east of Trenton and I-59 (Exit #11), and 18 miles west of LaFayette.

Phone
(706) 657-4050

 
Free Mobile App!Tons of Fun eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks