Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Crooked River State Park

Check Last Minute Availability

Located on southern tip of Georgia’s Colonial Coast, this park is the perfect spot for enjoying the intracoastal waterway and maritime forest.  Campsites are surrounded by palmettos and Spanish moss-draped oaks, while cottages are set near the tidal river. A boat ramp is popular with anglers who often take to the water before sunrise. Just down the road is the ferry to famous Cumberland Island National Seashore known for secluded beaches and wild horses. 
 
The park’s nature trail winds through forest and salt marsh, and hikers may see gopher tortoises, fiddler crabs, herons and other birds.  A nature center features fish, snakes, turtles and other animals native to coastal Georgia. Visitors may venture to the nearby ruins of a tabby mill, built around 1825 and later used as a starch factory during the Civil War.
 
   School Programs at Crooked River
   Crooked River State Park Business Plan

Interpretive Boat Cruise
Monday, Mar 30, 2015 10 AM - 12 PM

Terrific Turtles
Monday, Mar 30, 2015 2 PM - 3 PM

Kayak the Salt Marsh - Low Tide
Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 12:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Easter Basket Craft
Friday, Apr 3, 2015 7 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Easter Egg Hunt - Ages 0-5
Friday, Apr 3, 2015 8 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Flashlight Egg Hunt - Family Hunt
Friday, Apr 3, 2015 8:30 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Earth Day River Paddle at High Tide
Wednesday, Apr 22, 2015 11:50 AM - 2:50 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Homeschool Wednesdays
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 9 AM - 11 AM

Koastal Georgia Kayak Family Kamp
Thursday, May 28, 2015 1 AM - 1 AM
Friday, May 29, 2015 1 AM - 1 AM
Saturday, May 30, 2015 1 AM - 1 AM
Sunday, May 31, 2015 1 AM - 1 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Junior Ranger Camp - Ages 6-8
Wednesday, Jun 3, 2015 - Friday, Jun 5, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Junior Ranger Camp - Ages 9-12
Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM

Adventure Camp
Tuesday, Jun 23, 2015 - Thursday, Jun 25, 2015 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Adventure Camp
Tuesday, Jul 7, 2015 - Thursday, Jul 9, 2015 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Junior Ranger Camp - Ages 6-12
Tuesday, Jul 21, 2015 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM




Address
6222 Charlie Smith Sr. Highway
St. Marys, GA 31558


GPS Coordinates:
N 30.8422056 | W -81.5524702

Located 7 miles north of St. Marys on Ga. Spur 40 or 8 miles east of I-95 exit 3.

Phone
(912) 882-5256

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks