Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Crooked River State Park


Check Last Minute Availability
   Guided Fishing Trip Packages . . .


Located on southern tip of Georgia’s Colonial Coast, this park is the perfect spot for enjoying the intracoastal waterway and maritime forest.  Campsites are surrounded by palmettos and Spanish moss-draped oaks, while cottages are set near the tidal river.  A boat ramp is popular with anglers who often take to the water before sunrise.  Just down the road is the ferry to famous Cumberland Island National Seashore known for secluded beaches and wild horses. 
 
The park’s nature trail winds through forest and salt marsh, and hikers may see gopher tortoises, fiddler crabs, herons and other birds.  A nature center features fish, snakes, turtles and other animals native to coastal Georgia. Visitors may venture to the nearby ruins of a tabby mill, built around 1825 and later used as a starch factory during the Civil War.


   School Programs at Crooked River

   Crooked River State Park Business Plan

Easter Basket Craft
Friday, Apr 18, 2014 7 PM - 8 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Easter Egg Hunt - Ages 0-5
Friday, Apr 18, 2014 8 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Flashlight Egg Hunt - Family Hunt
Friday, Apr 18, 2014 8:30 PM

Rookery Trip
Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 9 AM - 11 AM

Wildlife of our World
Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 1 PM - 2 PM

Evening Bird Watch
Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 7 PM - 8 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Earth Day River Paddle – Low-Tide Paddle
Tuesday, Apr 22, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM

Friday Night Campfire and Hayride
Friday, Apr 25, 2014 7 PM - 8 PM

Magnificent Marsh Kayak Trip
Saturday, Apr 26, 2014 1 PM - 4 PM

Sapelo Island Birding Adventure
Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - Wednesday, May 7, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Homeschool Wednesdays
Wednesday, May 7, 2014 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Family Fun Day
Saturday, May 10, 2014 10 AM - 6 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Junior Ranger Camp - Ages 6-8
Tuesday, Jun 3, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Wednesday, Jun 4, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Thursday, Jun 5, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Tuesday, Jun 3, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM

Adventure Camp
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Junior Ranger Camp - Ages 9-10
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Thursday, Jun 26, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Adventure Camp for Kids
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2014 - Thursday, Jul 24, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Junior Ranger Camp - Ages 11-12
Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Thursday, Jul 31, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM




Address
6222 Charlie Smith Sr. Highway
St. Marys, GA 31558


GPS Coordinates:
N 30.8422056 | W -81.5524702

Located 7 miles north of St. Marys on Ga. Spur 40 or 8 miles east of I-95 exit 3.

Phone
(912) 882-5256

 
Free Mobile App!Tons of Fun eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks