Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Crooked River State Park

Check Last Minute Availability
   "Groupon Camping Special" - (valid until August 31)

Located on southern tip of Georgia’s Colonial Coast, this park is the perfect spot for enjoying the intracoastal waterway and maritime forest.  Campsites are surrounded by palmettos and Spanish moss-draped oaks, while cottages are set near the tidal river. A boat ramp is popular with anglers who often take to the water before sunrise. Just down the road is the ferry to famous Cumberland Island National Seashore known for secluded beaches and wild horses. 
 
The park’s nature trail winds through forest and salt marsh, and hikers may see gopher tortoises, fiddler crabs, herons and other birds.  A nature center features fish, snakes, turtles and other animals native to coastal Georgia. Visitors may venture to the nearby ruins of a tabby mill, built around 1825 and later used as a starch factory during the Civil War.
 
   School Programs at Crooked River
   Crooked River State Park Business Plan

Sunrise Boat Cruise
Saturday, Sep 5, 2015 6:30 AM - 8 AM
Get Outdoors Georgia
The Magnificent Marsh Kayak Trip
Saturday, Sep 5, 2015 8:15 AM - 11:15 AM

Interpretive Boat Cruise
Saturday, Sep 5, 2015 9:30 AM - 11 AM

Wildlife of Our World
Saturday, Sep 5, 2015 3 PM - 4 PM

Beach Combing Cruise
Sunday, Sep 6, 2015 1:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Rockin’ Robins Nature Camp
Monday, Sep 7, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM

Campfire Night
Saturday, Sep 12, 2015 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Star Gazing Boat Cruise
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2015 8 PM - 10 PM

Creatures of the Night Hike
Saturday, Sep 19, 2015 7 PM - 8 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Kayak Our A-Maze-ing Marshes
Sunday, Sep 20, 2015 1:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Dolphin Cruise
Saturday, Sep 26, 2015 9 AM - 12 PM

River Clean Up -- Your State Parks Day
Saturday, Sep 26, 2015 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Dendrology Nature Camp
Monday, Oct 12, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM

Wet & Wild Nature Camp
Wednesday, Nov 11, 2015 8 AM - 4 PM

Christmas at the Nature Center
Saturday, Dec 12, 2015 3 PM - 6 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Herp, Herp, Hurray Nature Camp
Monday, Jan 4, 2016 - Tuesday, Jan 5, 2016 8 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Insects & Invertebrates Nature Camp
Monday, Jan 18, 2016 8 AM - 12 PM

Beach Babies Nature Camp
Monday, Feb 15, 2016 8 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Forest Fantasy Nature Camp
Friday, Mar 4, 2016 8 AM - 12 PM

Koastal Georgia Kayak Family Kamp
Thursday, Jun 2, 2016 - Sunday, Jun 5, 2016 12 PM




Address
6222 Charlie Smith Sr. Highway
St. Marys, GA 31558


GPS Coordinates:
N 30.8422056 | W -81.5524702

Located 7 miles north of St. Marys on Ga. Spur 40 or 8 miles east of I-95 exit 3.

Phone
(912) 882-5256

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks