Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Crooked River State Park


Check Last Minute Availability
   Summer Cabin Discount (August 1-28, 2014)
   Guided Fishing Trip Packages . . .


Located on southern tip of Georgia’s Colonial Coast, this park is the perfect spot for enjoying the intracoastal waterway and maritime forest.  Campsites are surrounded by palmettos and Spanish moss-draped oaks, while cottages are set near the tidal river.  A boat ramp is popular with anglers who often take to the water before sunrise.  Just down the road is the ferry to famous Cumberland Island National Seashore known for secluded beaches and wild horses. 
 
The park’s nature trail winds through forest and salt marsh, and hikers may see gopher tortoises, fiddler crabs, herons and other birds.  A nature center features fish, snakes, turtles and other animals native to coastal Georgia. Visitors may venture to the nearby ruins of a tabby mill, built around 1825 and later used as a starch factory during the Civil War.


   School Programs at Crooked River

   Crooked River State Park Business Plan

Nature Craft
Saturday, Aug 30, 2014 10 AM - 11 AM

Wildlife of Our World
Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 1 PM - 2 PM
Sunday, Aug 31, 2014 1 PM - 2 PM
Saturday, Aug 30, 2014 1 PM - 2 PM

Roving Ranger
Friday, Sep 5, 2014 3 PM - 4 PM
Saturday, Aug 30, 2014 3 PM - 4 PM

Story and Greet the Animal
Sunday, Aug 31, 2014 2 PM - 3 PM

Wet and Wild Nature Camp
Monday, Sep 1, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM

Friends Meeting
Tuesday, Sep 2, 2014 6:30 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Homeschool Wednesdays
Wednesday, Sep 3, 2014 9 AM - 11 AM

Sunset Boat Cruise
Friday, Sep 12, 2014 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Boat Cruise on Crooked River
Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 10 AM - 12 PM

Craft Time
Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Campfire Fun
Friday, Sep 19, 2014 6 PM - 7 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sensory Awareness Night Hike
Saturday, Sep 20, 2014 6 PM - 7 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunset Marsh Kayak Trip
Friday, Sep 26, 2014 4 PM - 7 PM

Nature Center Clean Up - Your State Parks Day
Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 10 AM - 12 PM

River Clean Up -- Your State Parks Day
Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 5 PM - 6 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Damsels & Dragons Nature Camp
Monday, Oct 13, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Creepy Crooked River
Friday, Oct 24, 2014 7:30 PM - 10 PM
Saturday, Oct 25, 2014 5 PM - 10 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Herp, Herp, Hurray Nature Camp
Monday, Nov 10, 2014 - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM

Christmas at the Nature Center
Saturday, Dec 13, 2014 3 PM - 6 PM

Koastal Georgia Kayak Family Kamp
Friday, Jan 2, 2015 - Tuesday, Jan 6, 2015 11:30 AM - 5 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Frozen Nature Camp
Monday, Jan 5, 2015 - Tuesday, Jan 6, 2015 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Animal Tracks Nature Camp
Monday, Jan 19, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Forest Fantasy Nature Camp
Monday, Feb 16, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Insects & Invertebrates Nature Camp
Friday, Mar 6, 2015 8 AM - 12 PM




Address
6222 Charlie Smith Sr. Highway
St. Marys, GA 31558


GPS Coordinates:
N 30.8422056 | W -81.5524702

Located 7 miles north of St. Marys on Ga. Spur 40 or 8 miles east of I-95 exit 3.

Phone
(912) 882-5256

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks