Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains

Fort King George Historic Site

 
360ยบ Tour
This is the oldest English fort remaining on Georgia's coast. From 1721 until 1736, Fort King George was the southern outpost of the British Empire in North America. A cypress blockhouse, barracks and palisaded earthen fort were constructed in 1721 by scoutmen led by Colonel John “Tuscarora Jack” Barnwell. For the next seven years, His Majesty’s Independent Company garrisoned the fort. They endured incredible hardships from disease, threats of Spanish and Indian attacks, and the harsh, unfamiliar coastal environment. After the fort was abandoned, General James Oglethorpe brought Scottish Highlanders to the site in 1736. The settlement, called Darien, eventually became a foremost export center of lumber until 1925.

Using old records and drawings, this 18th century frontier fortification on the Altamaha River has been reconstructed for public tours. Structures include a blockhouse, officers' quarters, barracks, a guardhouse, moat and palisades. A museum and film cover the Guale Indians, the Santo Domingo de Talaje mission, Fort King George, the Scots of Darien and 19th century sawmilling when Darien became a major seaport. In addition to the many fort buildings, remains of three sawmills and tabby ruins are still visible. This site is on the Colonial Coast Birding Trail.

Colonial Memorial Celebrations
Monday, May 30, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

First Saturday Fun
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 1 PM - 4 PM

Darien River Paddling Trip - Get Outdoors Day
Saturday, Jun 11, 2016 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Junior Rangers Day Camp
Tuesday, Jun 14, 2016 - Saturday, Jun 18, 2016 9 AM - 3 PM

Paddle Trip at the Fort
Thursday, Jun 23, 2016 11 AM - 12:30 PM

Pedal to Paddle
Saturday, Jun 25, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Cannons Across the Marsh
Monday, Jul 4, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

Sights and Sounds of the Sawmills
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Labor Day at Fort King George
Monday, Sep 5, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM

Lend a Hand - Your State Parks Day
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM

Spanish Missions of the Georgia Coast
Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 1 PM - 3 PM

The Ghosts Of Fort King George
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 5 PM - 7 PM

A Colonial Christmas at Fort King George
Saturday, Dec 10, 2016 7 PM - 8:30 PM




Address
302 McIntosh Road SE
Darien, GA 31305

Directions

GPS Coordinates:

N 31.3644180 | W -81.4130690


Located in Darien, 3 miles east of I-95 exit #49.



Phone
(912) 437-4770

 
Free Mobile Application Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks