Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Fort Yargo State Park

MASTER PLAN :    FYSP Master Plan  


Check Last Minute Availability
Located between Atlanta and Athens, this popular park features a 1792 log fort built by settlers for protection against Creek and Cherokee Indians.  Today, visitors come to Fort Yargo for its wide variety of outdoor recreation and scenery.  Mountain bikers and hikers can test their endurance on 18 miles of trails. A 260-acre lake offers a large swimming beach, fishing and boat ramps. The park’s wooded disc golf course is exceptionally challenging. 
 
Fort Yargo State Park is a beautiful location for outdoor weddings, reunions and other celebrations.  Visitors have a choice of numerous facilities for all budgets, ranging from group shelters to lake-view pavilions. Overnight guests can choose from fully equipped cottages or cozy campsites.  For a more unique experience, visitors can reserve lakeside yurts, which are like canvas and wooden tents. Each yurt has furniture and electricity inside and a fire ring, picnic table and grill outside.


 
   Fort Yargo State Park Business Plan


 

Moonlight Hike
Thursday, Jul 9, 2015 8:30 PM - 10 PM

Campfire Jam Session
Friday, Jul 17, 2015 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Fun at the Fort
Saturday, Jul 18, 2015 10 AM - 3 PM

Bark in the Park
Saturday, Jul 25, 2015 11 AM - 12 PM

Paint the Fort
Saturday, Aug 1, 2015 10 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Labor Day Twilight Paddle
Friday, Sep 4, 2015 8 PM - 9:30 PM

Guided Geocache Hike
Sunday, Sep 6, 2015 11 AM - 12:30 PM

Birdberry Trail Birding
Saturday, Sep 12, 2015 10 AM - 11 AM

Twilight Paddle
Friday, Sep 18, 2015 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Total Lunar Eclipse Paddle
Sunday, Sep 27, 2015 8 PM - 10:30 PM

Fall Crafts at the Fort
Friday, Oct 2, 2015 6 PM - 8 PM

Spooks and S'mores
Friday, Oct 16, 2015 7 PM - 9 PM




Address
210 S. Broad Street
Winder, GA 30680


GPS Coordinates:
N 33.969621 | W -83.729612

Located 1 mile south of Winder on Ga. Hwy. 81.

Phone
(770) 867-3489

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks