Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains

Black Rock Mountain State Park

Georgia's highest state park encompasses some of the most outstanding scenery in Georgia’s Blue Ridge Mountains. Roadside overlooks provide spectacular 80-mile vistas, and four hiking trails lead visitors past wildflowers, streams, small waterfalls and lush forests. Visitors enjoy the summit visitor center for its views, gift shop and picnic tables. 
 
Mountaintop cottages surround a small playground, while campsites are nestled under rhododendron and gnarled oaks. Tent campers will appreciate the walk-in sites that allow extra privacy. The park’s small lake is popular with anglers and circled by an easy walking trail. At an altitude of 3,640 feet, Black Rock Mountain is often cooler than other Georgia parks and may close during icy weather. RVers should be comfortable driving on steep, winding roads.

Build your own Canjo
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM
Sunday, Jul 3, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM

Tri-State Hike
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM

Last Chance Hike
Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 10 AM - 11:30 AM

Backpacking 101
Saturday, Jul 23, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM

Hike into the Geological Past
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM

Builf Your Own Canjo
Saturday, Sep 3, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM
Sunday, Sep 4, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM

Trunk or Treat at Black Rock
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 5:30 PM - 7 PM

Campfires, Marahmallows and Ghosts
Sunday, Oct 30, 2016 5:30 AM - 7:30 PM




Address
3085 Black Rock Mountain Parkway
Mountain City, GA 30562

Directions

GPS Coordinates:

N 34.9069220 | W -83.4083750


Located on Black Rock Mountain Parkway, 3 miles north of Clayton off U.S. Highway 441. Look for brown directional signs in Mountain City.



Phone
(706) 746-2141

 
 Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks