Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains

Sweetwater Creek State Park

 

Watch Video

Check Last Minute Availability
» Mill Ruins Notice:
 To protect the historic mill ruins and maintain safety, access to the interior is closed to all visitors, including school trips, guided hikes and special events. Hikes to the exterior of the ruins are still available and encouraged. 
"The extraordinary beauty of the rugged hills, rocky outcrops, and rolling rapids of Sweetwater Creek have shaped centuries of history engaging you to reconnect with the natural world."

Sweetwater Creek State Park is a peaceful tract of wilderness only minutes from downtown Atlanta. A wooded trail follows the stream to the ruins of the New Manchester Manufacturing Company, a textile mill burned during the Civil War. Beyond the mill, the trail climbs rocky bluffs to provide views of the beautiful rapids below. Additional trails wind through fields and forest, showcasing ferns, magnolias, wild azaleas and hardwoods. Park rangers lead informative hikes to these areas throughout the year.
 
The 215-acre George Sparks Reservoir is popular for fishing and provides a pretty setting for feeding ducks and picnicking. Fishing supplies are available in the adjacent bait shop. During warmer months, the park rents fishing boats, canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddleboards and pedal boats. Visitors can join the Park Paddlers Club, which challenges them to explore waterways in six state parks. An award-winning Visitor's Center—one of the most environmentally responsible buildings in the country—features exhibits on the area’s history, wildlife displays, trail maps, snacks and a renovated gift shop. A window-lined meeting room that seats 40 can be rented for gatherings.

"Hidden Gem" Lakeside Hike
Sunday, May 1, 2016 1 PM - 3 PM
Sunday, May 1, 2016 1 PM - 3:30 PM

"Bark in the Park" Dog Hike
Monday, May 23, 2016 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, May 1, 2016 6 PM - 7 PM

Historic New Manchester Mill History Hike
Saturday, May 21, 2016 5:30 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, May 29, 2016 5:30 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, May 1, 2016 6:30 PM - 8 PM

Twilight Lake Paddle
Friday, May 6, 2016 7 PM - 8:30 PM

Sweetwater Creek by Kayak
Saturday, May 7, 2016 11 AM - 1:30 PM

Geology Hike
Saturday, May 7, 2016 1 PM - 3 PM

Candlelight Hike to the Mill
Saturday, May 7, 2016 8 PM - 10 PM

Sweetwater Creek Canoe Cleanup
Sunday, May 8, 2016 1 PM - 4 PM

Mother's Day Lake Paddle
Sunday, May 8, 2016 5:30 PM - 7 PM

"Women of the Mill" Mother's Day Hike
Sunday, May 8, 2016 5:30 PM - 7 PM

Family Fun Day
Saturday, May 14, 2016 9 AM - 3 PM

Ranger-led Lake Paddle
Sunday, May 15, 2016 2 PM - 3:30 PM

Snakes Alive
Sunday, May 15, 2016 2 PM - 3 PM

Introduction to Birdwatching Hike
Monday, May 16, 2016 9 AM - 11 AM

"Ruins to Rapids" Almost Full Moon Hike
Friday, May 20, 2016 8:30 PM - 10 PM

Introduction to Stand Up Paddleboarding (SUP)
Saturday, May 21, 2016 3 PM - 4:30 PM

Introduction to Kayaking
Saturday, May 21, 2016 5:30 PM - 7 PM

Full Moon Paddle
Saturday, May 21, 2016 8 PM - 10 PM

Home School Day at Sweetwater Creek
Thursday, May 26, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM

Junior Ranger Camp Level II (Fox Badge)
Thursday, May 19, 2016 1 PM - 6 PM
Friday, May 27, 2016 9 AM - 2 PM

Sweetwater Sunrise Stand-Up Paddleboarding
Saturday, May 28, 2016 7 AM - 8:30 AM

Native American Heritage Hike
Saturday, May 28, 2016 6 PM - 8 PM

Junior Ranger Day Camp Level I (Deer Patch)
Tuesday, May 31, 2016 9 AM - 2 PM

Volunteer Trail Maintenance - National Trails Day
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Tails on Trails -- National Trails Day Dog Hike
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Dragonfly Discovery
Saturday Every Week from Jun 4, 2016 until Jun. 25, 2016 10 AM - 11:45 AM

"Hidden Gem" Kayak and Hike
Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 7 PM - 9 PM
Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 7:30 PM - 9 PM

"Hidden Gem" Eastside Hike
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Renewable Energy Program for 3rd-8th Grade Kids
Monday, Jul 11, 2016 9 AM - 1 PM

"Hidden Gem" Eastside Nature and History Hike
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 9 AM - 11 AM
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Aug 6, 2016 9 AM - 11:30 PM

"Hidden Gem" Lake Paddle and Hike
Saturday, Sep 3, 2016 9 AM - 11 AM
Saturday, Sep 3, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

National Public Lands Day
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Hidden Gem History Hike
Sunday, Oct 2, 2016 1 PM - 3 PM

Trails Work Day
Sunday, Nov 13, 2016 10 AM - 1 PM

"Hidden Gem" Visitor's Center/Museum Tour
Sunday, Nov 27, 2016 1 PM - 2:30 PM

"Hidden Gem" New Manchester Daily Life Hike
Sunday, Dec 11, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM




Address
1750 Mount Vernon Road
Lithia Springs, GA 30122

Directions

GPS Coordinates:

N 33.753783 | W -084.639000


Take I-20 west from Atlanta, exit #44 at Thornton Road, turn left and go ΒΌ mile. Turn right on Blairs Bridge Road. After 2 miles, turn left on Mount Vernon Road and proceed to the park.



Phone
(770) 732-5871

 
Free Mobile Application Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks