Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains

F.D. Roosevelt State Park

 
360º Tour
Check Last Minute Availability
Join the 400-Mile Challenge at FDR!
"Inspired by the natural wonders of Pine Mountain Ridge, F.D. Roosevelt State Park bridges the hope of the past to preservation for the future."

At 9,049 acres, Georgia’s largest state park is a hiker’s and backpacker’s haven. More than 40 miles of trails, including the popular 23-mile Pine Mountain Trail, wind through hardwood and pines, over creeks and past small waterfalls. Many visitors are surprised to find rolling mountains 80 miles southwest of Atlanta. Above King’s Gap is Dowdell’s Knob where President Franklin D. Roosevelt sometimes picnicked and pondered world affairs. A life-size sculpture of the president now welcomes visitors to the overlook.

Several park amenities were built by the Civilian Conservation Corps during the Great Depression, including cottages and the Liberty Bell Swimming Pool fed by cool springs. A wooded campground sits near the edge of a small fishing lake, and privately operated stables offer guided horseback rides. In 1924, FDR came to this part of Georgia to swim in naturally warm springs that offered relief from polio. Today, nearby Roosevelt’s Little White House Historic Site invites visitors to see his modest home, a museum and the pools that first drew him here.

F.D. Roosevelt State Park
 
360º Tour
Check Last Minute Availability
Join the 400-Mile Challenge at FDR!
"Inspired by the natural wonders of Pine Mountain Ridge, F.D. Roosevelt State Park bridges the hope of the past to preservation for the future."

At 9,049 acres, Georgia’s largest state park is a hiker’s and backpacker’s haven. More than 40 miles of trails, including the popular 23-mile Pine Mountain Trail, wind through hardwood and pines, over creeks and past


Naturalist by the Lake
Sunday, May 29, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM

Jr. Ranger Summer Discovery Camp
Wednesday, Jun 1, 2016 8 AM - 2 PM
Thursday, Jun 2, 2016 8 AM - 2 PM
Friday, Jun 3, 2016 8 AM - 2 PM

Volunteer to Help Us with Summer Programs and Events
Wednesday, Jun 1, 2016 9 AM - 5 PM

Wonderful Wednesday Water Aerobics
Wednesday, Jun 1, 2016 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Eye Spy 20 Camera Scavenger Hunt
Thursday, Jun 2, 2016 10 AM

One Fish, Glow Fish
Thursday, Jun 2, 2016 8 PM - 9 PM

Friday Night Frog Walk
Friday, Jun 3, 2016 8:15 PM - 9:30 PM

Motorcycle Day at the Park
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 9 AM - 5 PM

Fairy House Playground Workshop-National Get Outdoors Day
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 10 AM - 11 AM

Dowdell's Knob Loop- National Trails Day Hike
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM

Water Wonders - National Get Outdoors Day
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 12 PM - 1 PM

Campground Trivia Challenge
Saturday, Jun 4, 2016 7 PM - 8 PM

Group Swim Lessons Session I
Monday, Jun 6, 2016 8 AM - 10:30 AM

Liberty Bell Pool: A Hidden Gem
Saturday, Jun 11, 2016 1:30 PM - 3 PM

Music & Dancing On the Mountain- National Get Outdoors Day
Saturday, Jun 11, 2016 7 PM - 9 PM

Father's Day Weekend Grilldown I
Saturday, Jun 18, 2016 4 PM - 5:30 PM

Safe Swim Day
Monday, Jun 20, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Mermaid Swim
Saturday, Jun 25, 2016 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Group Swim Lessons Session II
Tuesday, Jun 28, 2016 8 AM - 10:30 AM

Bluebirds and Butterflies
Friday, Jul 1, 2016 10 AM - 11 AM

Pine Mountain Trail Summer Ramble
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 10 AM - 1:30 PM

Cool Pool Summer Splash Celebration
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 1 PM - 4 PM

Campsite Decorating Contest
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 2 PM - 4 PM

Campers To Campers Game Challenge
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 7 PM - 8 PM

Swimming Lessons Session III
Monday, Jul 18, 2016 8 AM - 10:30 AM

Star Light, Star Bright
Saturday, Jul 23, 2016 9 PM - 10 PM

Petsmart Bark Camp I
Saturday, Aug 20, 2016 10 AM - 3 PM

Volunteer to Help Us with the Labor Day Pool Splash Celebration
Saturday, Sep 3, 2016 9 AM - 4 PM

Dog Splash & Luau at the Liberty Bell Pool
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 1 PM - 4 PM

Volunteer for Your State Parks Day
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Going Caching 2016
Thursday, Oct 13, 2016 9 AM - 5 PM
Friday, Oct 14, 2016 9 AM - 5 PM
Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 9 AM - 5 PM
Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 9 AM - 5 PM

Volunteer to Help Us with Halloween Events
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 4 PM - 9 PM

Fall Celebration
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 6 PM - 9:30 PM

Volunteer to Help Us with Our Fall Homeschool Program
Friday, Nov 4, 2016 8 AM - 1 PM

Volunteer to Help Us Bring Santa to the Park
Saturday, Dec 17, 2016 11 AM - 9 PM

Lake Paddle with Santa
Saturday, Dec 17, 2016 2 PM - 3:30 PM




Address
2970 Georgia Highway 190
Pine Mountain, GA 31822

Directions

GPS Coordinates:

N 32.837533 | W -084.815616


Located just off I-185 near Callaway Gardens, west of Warm Springs on Route 190, or south of Pine Mountain off U.S. Highway 27.

Phone
(706) 663-4858
(706) 628-7463
(877) 696-4613 (fax)

 
Free Mobile Application Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks