Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Smithgall Woods State Park


Check Last Minute Availability

Smithgall Woods is an angler’s paradise. One of north Georgia’s premier trout streams, Dukes Creek, runs through this spectacular mountain property and is a favorite for catch-and-release fishing. To ensure a quality experience, the number of anglers is limited and fishing is offered only on certain days.  As a result, anglers should call ahead for reservations. Five miles of trails and 18 miles of roads allow hikers and bicyclists to explore hardwoods, streams and wildlife.
 
Smithgall Woods is also an elegant mountain retreat, perfect for romantic getaways, small weddings or outings with friends. Six beautifully decorated cottages -- Creekside Cottage, Smithgall Cottage, Dover Cottage, Parkside Cottage, Garden Cottage and Laurel Cottage -- provide 17 bedrooms with telephones and television.  Some cottages have porches along the stream, while others have private hot tubs. A 1-mile trail leads from the cottages to Dukes Creek Falls.

Smithgall Woods was acquired by the state in 1994 as a gift-purchase from Charles A. Smithgall, Jr., a noted conservationist and businessman.
 
   Smithgall Woods State Park Business Plan

Second Saturday Guided Hikes
Saturday 2nd Week of Month from Feb 13, 2016 9 AM - 11 AM
Saturday 2nd Week of Month from Feb 20, 2016 9 AM - 11 AM

Survival Preparation and Skills Course at Buck Shoals
Saturday Every Week from Feb 20, 2016 until Feb. 27, 2016 10 AM - 3:30 PM

Volunteer Training
Saturday, Mar 5, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

First Visit Tours
Wednesday 1st Week of Month from Mar 2, 2016 10 AM - 11:30 AM
Saturday 1st Week of Month from Mar 5, 2016 10 AM - 11:30 AM
Saturday 1st Week of Month from Mar 5, 2016 10 AM - 11:30 AM

Downstream Privet Project
Saturday, Mar 12, 2016 2 PM - 3 PM

Flies and Fly Water
Saturday, Mar 19, 2016 9:30 AM - 12 PM

Dukes Creek Falls Hike
Saturday, Mar 26, 2016 1 PM - 3:30 PM

Wilderness First Aid
Saturday, Apr 16, 2016 9 AM - 5 PM

Canines for the Cure
Saturday, Apr 23, 2016 8 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Apr 23, 2016 8 AM - 12 PM

Firewise Community Preparedness Project
Saturday, May 7, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

Youth Fishing Days at Buck Shoals
Saturday 4th Week of Month from May 28, 2016 until Aug. 27, 2016 8 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, May 21, 2016 8 AM - 12 PM

Kids Day at the Park
Saturday, May 21, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM
Saturday, May 21, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM

Master Naturalist
Monday Every Week from Jun 6, 2016 until Jul. 25, 2016 9 AM - 4 PM

The Science of Nature
Monday, Jun 20, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM
Monday, Jun 20, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Exploring the Natural Communities of the Blue Ridge
Saturday, Jun 25, 2016 10 AM - 12 PM

All about BUGS Camp
Monday, Jul 11, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM
Monday, Jul 11, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Eco-Kids Camp: Caring for the Winged Ones
Sunday, Jul 24, 2016 9 AM - 3 PM
Monday, Jul 25, 2016 9 AM - 3 PM
Monday, Jul 25, 2016 9 AM - 3 PM

Gold Fever
Saturday, Aug 20, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Aug 20, 2016 9 AM - 12 PM

Smithgall Shindig
Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 4 PM - 8 PM

Basic Land Navigation at Buck Shoals
Saturday, Oct 29, 2016 10 AM - 2 PM

Advanced Land Navigation at Buck Shoals
Saturday, Nov 5, 2016 10 AM - 3:30 PM

GPS - Advanced
Saturday, Dec 3, 2016 10 AM - 4 PM




Address
61 Tsalaki Trail
Helen, GA 30545


GPS Coordinates:
N 34.691950 | W -083.767150

Located on Ga. Hwy. 75 Alt, 3 miles west of Helen.


Phone
(800) 864-7275
(706) 878-3087

 
Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks