Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites

Smithgall Woods State Park


Check Last Minute Availability

Smithgall Woods is an angler’s paradise. One of north Georgia’s premier trout streams, Dukes Creek, runs through this spectacular mountain property and is a favorite for catch-and-release fishing. To ensure a quality experience, the number of anglers is limited and fishing is offered only on certain days.  As a result, anglers should call ahead for reservations. Five miles of trails and 18 miles of roads allow hikers and bicyclists to explore hardwoods, streams and wildlife.
 
Smithgall Woods is also an elegant mountain retreat, perfect for romantic getaways, small weddings or outings with friends. Six beautifully decorated cottages -- Creekside Cottage, Smithgall Cottage, Dover Cottage, Parkside Cottage, Garden Cottage and Laurel Cottage -- provide 17 bedrooms with telephones and television.  Some cottages have porches along the stream, while others have private hot tubs. A 1-mile trail leads from the cottages to Dukes Creek Falls.

Smithgall Woods was acquired by the state in 1994 as a gift-purchase from Charles A. Smithgall, Jr., a noted conservationist and businessman.


   Smithgall Woods State Park Business Plan


Get Outdoors Georgia Wilderness First Aid
Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Conservation Club
Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 10:30 AM - 1 PM
Saturday, May 3, 2014 10:30 AM - 1 PM
Saturday, May 17, 2014 10:30 AM - 1 PM

Spring Cleaning on the Farm
Saturday, Apr 26, 2014 1 PM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Bartram's Palette and Pen Open House
Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 1 PM - 4 PM

Sunday Tours at Hardman Farm
Sunday, Apr 27, 2014 1 PM - 4 PM

First Fridays
Friday, May 2, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Friday, Jun 6, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Friday, Jul 4, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Friday, Aug 1, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Friday, Sep 5, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Friday, Oct 3, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Friday, Nov 7, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM
Friday, Dec 5, 2014 3 PM - 4:30 PM

First-Visit Tour
Saturday 1st Week of Month from May 3, 2014 until Dec. 6, 2014 10 AM - 11:30 AM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Youth Fishing Days at Buck Shoals
Saturday, May 17, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Jun 21, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Jul 19, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Aug 16, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Saturday, Sep 20, 2014 8 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Bartram's Palette and Pen
Saturday, May 17, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Saturday, May 17, 2014 - Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM

Wildflower Hunt at Hardman Farm
Saturday, May 17, 2014 9 AM - 11 AM

Guided Tours at Hardman Farm State Historic Site
Saturday, May 17, 2014 1 PM - 6 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Georgia Master Naturalist
Thursday, Jun 5, 2014 9 AM - 2 PM
Monday, Jun 9, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Monday, Jun 23, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Monday, Jun 30, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Tuesday, Jul 1, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Monday, Jul 7, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Monday, Jul 14, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Monday, Jul 21, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Monday, Jul 28, 2014 9 AM - 4 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Kids Day at the Park
Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 10 AM - 2 PM

Buzz on Bees, Bugs, and Birds
Monday, Jun 23, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Tuesday, Jun 24, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Thursday, Jun 26, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Friday, Jun 27, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM

All about BUGS Camp
Monday, Jul 7, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM
Tuesday, Jul 8, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM
Wednesday, Jul 9, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM
Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM
Friday, Jul 11, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Eco-Kids Camp: Caring for the Winged Ones
Monday, Jul 21, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Tuesday, Jul 22, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Wednesday, Jul 23, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Thursday, Jul 24, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Friday, Jul 25, 2014 9 AM - 3 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Gold Fever and Golden Memories
Saturday, Aug 23, 2014 9 AM - 12 PM
Get Outdoors Georgia
Fall Celebration
Saturday, Oct 11, 2014 12 PM - 4 PM

Using a Hand-held GPS Unit - Advanced
Saturday, Dec 6, 2014 10 AM - 4 PM




Address
61 Tsalaki Trail
Helen, GA 30545


GPS Coordinates:
N 34.691950 | W -083.767150

Located on Ga. Hwy. 75 Alt, 3 miles west of Helen.


Phone
(800) 864-7275
(706) 878-3087

 
Free Mobile App!Tons of Fun eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks