Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
ZIP SEARCH:  go  
 
NOTICE: New Echota Historic Site is open Thursday-Saturday only.

New Echota is one of the most significant Cherokee Indian sites in the nation and was where the tragic “Trail of Tears” officially began.  In 1825, the Cherokee national legislature established a capital called New Echota at the headwaters of the Oostanaula River. During its short history, New Echota was the site of the first Indian language newspaper office, a court case which carried to the U.S. Supreme Court, one of the earliest experiments in national self government by an Indian tribe, the signing of a treaty which relinquished Cherokee claims to lands east of the Mississippi River, and the assembly of Indians for removal west on the infamous Trail of Tears.

Today, visitors can see 12 original and reconstructed buildings, including the Council House, Court House, Print Shop, Missionary Samuel Worcester's home, and an 1805 store, as well as outbuildings such as smoke houses, corn cribs and barns. In the visitor center, guest can purchase souvenirs, books, music, plus view interpretive exhibits and a 17-minute film.  Nature trails leads visitors to New Town Creek and a small beaver pond.


   New Echota State Historic Site Business Plan


Upcoming Events
New Echota Privet Pull
Saturday, Jan 24, 2015 12 PM to 3 PM
New Echota Privet Pull
Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 12 PM to 3 PM
Spring Fling Volunteer Day
Saturday, Mar 14, 2015 10 AM to 1 PM
Third Saturdays Friends Day
Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 until Saturday, Oct 17, 2015 10 AM to 3 PM
Trail Volunteers Needed
Saturday, Apr 25, 2015 to Sunday, Apr 26, 2015 9:30 AM
New Echota Cemetery Clean-up
Saturday, May 9, 2015 10 AM to 12 PM
National Trails Day Volunteer Day
Saturday, Jun 6, 2015 10 AM to 1 PM
Green Corn Clean-Up Day
Saturday, Jul 25, 2015 10 AM to 12:30 PM
Your State Parks Day 2015
Saturday, Sep 26, 2015 10 AM to 2 PM
Winter's Coming Volunteer Day
Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 12:30 PM to 3 PM

Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks