Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
ZIP SEARCH:  go  
 

Check Last Minute Availability
NOTICE:
The Tranquil Trail will be closed for a resource management project until further notice. All geocaches on the tranquil trail will be temporarily removed.

Located northwest of Macon, High Falls State Park is named for tumbling cascades on the Towaliga River. Boat rental, ramps and fishing docks provide easy access to the park’s lake, known as one of Georgia’s top fishing spots for hybrid and white bass. Overnight visitors can choose from a spacious campground or lakeside yurts, which are like canvas and wood tents.  Each yurt features a small deck, picnic table and grill outside, plus furniture, electrical outlets and a ceiling fan inside.  During summer, guests may cool off in the park’s swimming pool. 
 
Visitors can hike along the river’s edge and through hilly forest to the remains of a hydroelectric power plant foundation.  In the early 1800s, this area was a prosperous industrial town with several stores, a grist mill, cotton gin, blacksmith shop, shoe factory and hotel. High Falls fell from prosperity in the 1880s when a major railroad bypassed it. Today, the park is a popular camping destination and a relaxing side trip for travelers on I-75. 
 
   High Falls State Park Business Plan

Upcoming Events
Help Restore the Power House
Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 2 PM to 4 PM
Saturday, Apr 11, 2015 9 AM to 11 AM
Sunday, Apr 26, 2015 2 PM to 4 PM
Full Moon Hike
Get Outdoors GeorgiaTons of Fun
Friday, Apr 3, 2015 6:30 PM to 8 PM
Handicapped Accessible Glow-In-The-Dark Easter Egg Hunt Volunteers
Tons of Fun
Saturday, Apr 4, 2015 5 PM to 9 PM
Glow-In-The-Dark Easter Egg Hunt
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Apr 4, 2015 7 PM to 9 PM
Paws on the Falls
Tons of Fun
Sunday, Apr 5, 2015 2 PM to 3 PM
Junior Ranger Day Camp
Get Outdoors Georgia
Wednesday, Apr 8, 2015 10 AM to 3 PM
Canoeing 101: Intro to Paddling
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Apr 12, 2015 9 AM to 11 AM
Twlight Night Paddle
Get Outdoors GeorgiaTons of Fun
Saturday, Apr 18, 2015 6:30 PM to 8 PM
Get Outdoors with Paddling 101
Tons of Fun
Saturday, Jun 20, 2015 9 AM to 10:30 AM
High Falls Spooky Halloween Volunteers
Saturday, Oct 31, 2015 6 PM to 9:30 PM
Turkey Waddle Hike
Friday, Nov 27, 2015 10 AM to 12 PM

Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks