Check Last Minute Availability


"Marvel at the tallest cascading waterfall south of Atlanta at High Falls State Park, where you can revel in nostalgic recreational pastimes, investigate a rich cultural timeline and natural backdrop, while you throw a line in High Falls Lake which is recognized as one of the nation’s top family fishing destinations."

Located northwest of Macon, High Falls State Park is named for tumbling cascades on the Towaliga River. Boat rental, ramps and fishing docks provide easy access to the park’s lake, known as one of Georgia’s top fishing spots for hybrid and white bass. Overnight visitors can choose from a spacious campground or lakeside yurts, which are like canvas and wood tents. Each yurt features a small deck, picnic table and grill outside, plus furniture, electrical outlets and a ceiling fan inside. During summer, guests may cool off in the park’s swimming pool. 

Visitors can hike along the river’s edge and through hilly forest to the remains of a hydroelectric power plant foundation. In the early 1800s, this area was a prosperous industrial town with several stores, a grist mill, cotton gin, blacksmith shop, shoe factory and hotel. High Falls fell from prosperity in the 1880s when a major railroad bypassed it. Today, the park is a popular camping destination and a relaxing side trip for travelers on I-75.

Upcoming Events
Home School Thursday at High Falls
Get Outdoors Georgia
Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 11 AM to 12 PM
Thursday, Apr 20, 2017 11 AM to 12 PM
Paws on the Falls
Saturday, Mar 25, 2017 3 PM to 4:30 PM
Saturday, Apr 29, 2017 11 AM to 12:30 PM
Junior Ranger Spring Break Camp
Get Outdoors Georgia
10 AM - 3 PM from Apr 3, 2017 until Apr 5, 2017 
Big Bass Fishing Tournament
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Apr 8, 2017 7 AM to 3 PM
Stand-Up Paddleboarding for Beginners
Get Outdoors GeorgiaSoak It In
Sunday, Apr 9, 2017 9:30 AM to 11 AM
Sunday, Apr 23, 2017 9:30 AM to 11 AM
Sunday, Apr 30, 2017 9:30 AM to 11 AM
More Dates...
4th Annual Glow-N-Dark Easter Egg Hunt
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Apr 15, 2017 6 PM to 8:30 PM
High Falls Lake Sweep
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Apr 22, 2017 8 AM to 11:30 AM
Paws on the Falls - National Trails Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jun 3, 2017 10 AM to 11 AM
Full Moon Paddle
Soak It In
Friday, Jun 9, 2017 8:30 PM to 10 PM