NOTICE: The Bear Creek Backcountry Trail is closed at Bear Creek.

Check Last Minute Availability


Participate in Our Annual Photo Contest
» Camping Notices:
East Rim water/electric campsites are closed December–February. West Rim water/electric campsites are open year-round.
Walk-in campsites are open for winter; however, the comfort station is closed.
Located on the western edge of Lookout Mountain, this is one of the most scenic parks in the state, offering rugged geology and exceptional hiking. The park straddles a deep gorge cut into the mountain by Sitton Gulch Creek, and elevation differs from 800 to 1,980 feet. Overnight guests can choose from quirky yurts, cottages near the canyon edge, a modern campground or spacious, walk-in tent sites. Backpackers can enjoy camping in a hemlock grove on the 2-mile Backcountry Loop.  
 
The most spectacular view into the canyon is an easy walk from the picnic area; however, hikers can also explore a rim trail or journey to the canyon floor by a series of staircases. Two waterfalls cascade over layers of sandstone and shale into pools below, with their flow depending on recent rains. This Waterfalls Trail is part of the popular Canyon Climbers Club. Backpackers, mountain bikers and equestrians can explore several miles on the Cloudland Connector Trail.

Georgia Girl Guides is a local guide service that offers hikes and family friendly cave tours. The park’s caving trips are perfect for groups and adventure seekers who want to get muddy, wet and experience a wild cave. Different tours are offered throughout the year. Reservations required: 706-913-7170.

Upcoming Events
Wild Cave Tours
Get Outdoors Georgia
Tuesday, Jul 26, 2016 10 AM
Wednesday, Jul 27, 2016 10 AM
Saturday, Jul 30, 2016 10 AM
More Dates...
Friends Membership Meeting
Thursday, Jul 28, 2016 6 PM to 7 PM
Thursday, Aug 25, 2016 6 PM to 7 PM
Thursday, Sep 22, 2016 6 PM to 7 PM
More Dates...
Sunset Stroll to Sunset Point
Hidden Gem
Saturday, Jul 30, 2016 8:15 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 8:15 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Aug 20, 2016 8:15 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
Hear it on the Mountain: Nearly Normal String Band
Saturday, Aug 6, 2016 8 PM to 9 PM
Night Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Aug 12, 2016 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, Sep 2, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
Friday, Oct 14, 2016 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM
More Dates...
Trail Maintenance
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
Saturday, Oct 8, 2016 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
More Dates...
Catfish Rodeo
10 AM - 3 PM from Sep 3, 2016 until Sep 5, 2016 
Volunteer Event: Your State Park Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM to 1 PM