Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains
ZIP SEARCH:    
 
NOTICE: The Bear Creek Backcountry Trail is closed at Bear Creek.
Check Last Minute Availability
Participate in Our Annual Photo Contest
» Camping Notices:
East Rim water/electric campsites are closed December–February. West Rim water/electric campsites are open year-round.
Walk-in campsites are open for winter; however, the comfort station is closed.
Located on the western edge of Lookout Mountain, this is one of the most scenic parks in the state, offering rugged geology and exceptional hiking. The park straddles a deep gorge cut into the mountain by Sitton Gulch Creek, and elevation differs from 800 to 1,980 feet. Overnight guests can choose from quirky yurts, cottages near the canyon edge, a modern campground or spacious, walk-in tent sites. Backpackers can enjoy camping in a hemlock grove on the 2-mile Backcountry Loop.  
 
The most spectacular view into the canyon is an easy walk from the picnic area; however, hikers can also explore a rim trail or journey to the canyon floor by a series of staircases. Two waterfalls cascade over layers of sandstone and shale into pools below, with their flow depending on recent rains. This Waterfalls Trail is part of the popular Canyon Climbers Club. Backpackers, mountain bikers and equestrians can explore several miles on the Cloudland Connector Trail.

Georgia Girl Guides is a local guide service that offers hikes and family friendly cave tours. The park’s caving trips are perfect for groups and adventure seekers who want to get muddy, wet and experience a wild cave. Different tours are offered throughout the year. Reservations required: 706-913-7170.

Upcoming Events
Night Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Jul 1, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
Friday, Aug 12, 2016 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, Sep 2, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
New Salem Community Fireworks
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 10 PM to 10:30 PM
Junior Ranger Mini-Camp
Sunday, Jul 3, 2016 9 AM to 11 AM
Beyond the Canyons Morning Hike
Monday, Jul 4, 2016 8 AM to 11 AM
Trail Maintenance
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM
More Dates...
Sunset Stroll to Sunset Point
Hidden Gem
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 8:30 PM to 9:15 PM
Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 8:30 PM to 9:15 PM
Saturday, Jul 23, 2016 8:30 PM to 9:15 PM
More Dates...
Hear it on the Mountain: Nearly Normal String Band
Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 8 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Aug 6, 2016 8 PM to 9 PM
Friends Membership Meeting
Thursday, Jul 28, 2016 6 PM to 7 PM
Thursday, Aug 25, 2016 6 PM to 7 PM
Thursday, Sep 22, 2016 6 PM to 7 PM
More Dates...
Catfish Rodeo
10 AM - 3 PM from Sep 3, 2016 until Sep 5, 2016 
Volunteer Event: Your State Park Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM to 1 PM

 Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks