Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains
ZIP SEARCH:    
 
 
CLIMBING/FALCON NOTICE: Tallulah Gorge is temporarily closed to rock climbing in anticipation of nesting Peregrine Falcons. Climbing is expected to resume this June.
Check Last Minute Availability
» Hiking Notice:
 For animals' safety, pets are not allowed on the gorge floor or on any trail accessing the gorge. Leashed pets are welcome on rim trails.
» Gorge Floor Permits:
 Free permits are required to access the gorge floor and can be obtained at the Interpretive Center. Visitors must wear proper footwear—no flip-flops or Crocs. Permits will not be issued after 4 p.m. (3 p.m. during daylight savings time).
 Permits limited to 100 per day. On busy days, permits often run out early in the morning. Permits are not transferable.
 Groups of 20 can get permits on Saturday and Sunday only. Groups of 30 can get permits Monday through Friday only. To protect the natural resource, no groups larger than 30 are allowed.
 Weather and water flow conditions can restrict gorge floor access.
» Playground Notice:
 Currently, Tallulah Gorge does not have a playground on site.
One of the most spectacular canyons in the eastern U.S., Tallulah Gorge is two miles long and nearly 1,000 feet deep. Visitors can hike rim trails to several overlooks, or they can obtain a permit to hike to the gorge floor (100 per day, not available during water releases). A suspension bridge sways 80 feet above the rocky bottom, providing spectacular views of the river and waterfalls. Tightrope walkers have twice crossed the gorge, and visitors can still see towers used by Karl Wallenda. A paved path follows an on old railroad bed, perfect for strollers and bicycles, while mountain bikers can test their skills on a challenging 10-mile trail.
 
Exhibits in the park’s Jane Hurt Yarn Interpretive Center highlight the rich history of this Victorian resort town, as well as the rugged terrain and fragile ecosystem of the area. The persistent trillium, monkey-face orchid and green salamander are protected species found within the gorge. An award-winning film takes viewers on a dramatic journey through the gorge, including footage of rock climbers and kayakers. A gift shop offers snacks, jewelry, toys, books, walking sticks, clothing and more.

Upcoming Events
Slackline 101
Get Outdoors Georgia
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Wednesday, Jul 6, 2016 5 PM to 7 PM
Wednesday, Jul 20, 2016 5 PM to 7 PM
More Dates...
Gorge Floor Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM
Sunday, Jul 3, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM
Monday, Jul 4, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Family Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Wednesday, Jul 13, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Discover Tallulah Gorge's Hidden Gems
Get Outdoors GeorgiaHidden Gem
Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 11 AM to 1:30 PM
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 11 AM to 2:30 PM
More Dates...
Full Moon Lake Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Monday, Jul 18, 2016 7:45 PM to 9:45 PM
Friday, Aug 19, 2016 9:15 PM to 11:15 PM
Friday, Sep 16, 2016 7:45 PM to 9:45 PM
More Dates...
Full-Moon Suspension Bridge Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Tuesday, Jul 19, 2016 8:30 PM to 10:30 PM
Thursday, Aug 18, 2016 8:45 PM to 10:45 PM
Thursday, Sep 15, 2016 7:15 PM to 9:15 PM
More Dates...
Witch's Head Hike
Saturday, Jul 23, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
Sunday, Aug 28, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
Jail Tales Trail
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Oct 21, 2016 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM
Trunk or Treat for Halloween
Get Outdoors Georgia
Monday, Oct 31, 2016 5:30 PM to 7 PM
Whitewater-Watching Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Nov 5, 2016 11 AM to 3 PM
Sunday, Nov 6, 2016 11 AM to 3 PM
Saturday, Nov 12, 2016 11 AM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Walk Off The Turkey with a hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Nov 25, 2016 10:30 AM to 3 PM

 Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks