NOTICE: Due to the Okefenokee fire, smoke is a possibility at Laura S. Walker State Park. Those with breathing issues are cautioned.
Site-specific reservations are here! You're now able to reserve select campsites at Laura S. Walker.

Check Last Minute Availability


Located near the northern edge of the mysterious Okefenokee Swamp, this park is home to many fascinating creatures and plants, including alligators and carnivorous pitcher plants. Walking or biking along the lake’s edge and nature trail, visitors may spot the shy gopher tortoise, numerous oak varieties, saw palmettos, yellow shafted flickers, warblers, owls and great blue herons. The park’s lake offers opportunities for fishing, swimming and boating, and kayaks and bicycles are available for rent. The Lakes, a championship 18 hole golf course, features a clubhouse, golf pro and junior/senior rates. Greens are undulating rather than tiered. Each fairway and landing area is defined with gentle, links-style mounds that accent the course’s three large lakes. New Sportsman's Cabins sleep six. The park’s namesake was a Georgia writer, teacher, civic leader and naturalist who loved trees and worked for their preservation.

Upcoming Events
Star Stare
Saturday, May 6, 2017 9 PM to 10 PM
Thursday, Jun 15, 2017 9:30 PM to 10:30 PM
Friday, Jul 28, 2017 9:30 PM to 10:30 PM
More Dates...
Mother's Day with Mother Nature
Saturday, May 13, 2017 9 AM to 12 PM
Nest Search - Kids to Parks Day
Saturday, May 20, 2017 9 AM to 12 PM
Pet Adopt-a-Thon
Saturday, May 27, 2017 8 AM to 12 PM
Two Trails, One Day - National Trails Day
Saturday, Jun 3, 2017 9 AM to 12 PM
Get Outdoors Full Moon Paddle
Get Outdoors GeorgiaSoak It In
Friday, Jun 9, 2017 8 PM to 9 PM
Kid's Fishing Rodeo - Get Outdoors Day
Get Outdoors GeorgiaSoak It In
Saturday, Jun 10, 2017 8 AM to 11 AM
Hook a Kid on Golf
Get Outdoors Georgia
Monday, Jun 12, 2017 8 AM
Junior Ranger Camp
Soak It In
Tuesday, Jun 20, 2017 8 AM to 12 PM
Wednesday, Jun 21, 2017 8 AM to 12 PM
Thursday, Jun 22, 2017 8 AM to 12 PM
Old Fashioned Fourth of July Celebration
Tuesday, Jul 4, 2017 9 AM to 12 PM
Spread Like Wildflowers
Thursday, Jul 20, 2017 8 AM to 11 AM
Adventure Camp
Soak It In
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2017 9 AM to 4 PM
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2017 9 AM to 4 PM
Thursday, Jul 27, 2017 9 AM to 4 PM
Canned Counties
Handicapped Accessible
Tuesday, Aug 1, 2017 8 AM
Invasive Wipeout
Saturday, Sep 30, 2017 8 AM to 12 PM
Bark in the Park
Saturday, Oct 7, 2017 9 AM
Rivers Alive
Soak It In
Saturday, Oct 14, 2017 8 AM to 11 AM
Fall Festival
Saturday, Oct 21, 2017 3 PM to 7 PM
Christmas at the Park
Saturday, Dec 9, 2017 5 PM to 8 PM
Audubon Christmas Bird Count
Thursday, Dec 21, 2017 9 AM to 12 PM