Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
ZIP SEARCH:  go  
 
LAKE LOWERED: Fort Yargo Lake will be lowered 5 to 6 feet for maintenance during February. Access to both boat ramps will be restricted.

MASTER PLAN COMMENTS:  Share your thoughts for the park's master plan.  

Check Last Minute Availability
Located between Atlanta and Athens, this popular park features a 1792 log fort built by settlers for protection against Creek and Cherokee Indians.  Today, visitors come to Fort Yargo for its wide variety of outdoor recreation and scenery.  Mountain bikers and hikers can test their endurance on 18 miles of trails. A 260-acre lake offers a large swimming beach, fishing and boat ramps. The park’s wooded disc golf course is exceptionally challenging. 
 
Fort Yargo State Park is a beautiful location for outdoor weddings, reunions and other celebrations.  Visitors have a choice of numerous facilities for all budgets, ranging from group shelters to lake-view pavilions. Overnight guests can choose from fully equipped cottages or cozy campsites.  For a more unique experience, visitors can reserve lakeside yurts, which are like canvas and wooden tents. Each yurt has furniture and electricity inside and a fire ring, picnic table and grill outside.
 

arrow  MAINTENANCE NOTICE: 
Sunday, Oct 26, 2014 until Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 
Winder Water Works will be cleaning the sewer lines throughout the park. The expected date range is 150 days to complete the job, but will hopefully be completed well before then. Thank you for your patience throughout this time as certain areas may be temporarily blocked at certain drain locations at different times as the job is completed. 
 
   Fort Yargo State Park Business Plan

Upcoming Events
Dirty Spokes: Off-road Duathlon
Tons of Fun
Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 7 AM
Atlanta Audubon Society Bird Walk
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Mar 27, 2015 10 AM to 12 PM
Friday, Apr 24, 2015 10 AM to 12 PM
Easter at the Fort and Annual Market Faire
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 10 AM to 5 PM
Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 10 AM to 3 PM
Evening Paddle
Get Outdoors GeorgiaTons of Fun
Saturday, Apr 11, 2015 7 PM to 8:30 PM
Frogging by Ear (and other night sounds) by Kayak
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, May 9, 2015 8 PM to 9:30 PM
National Kids to Parks Day Nature Hike
Saturday, May 16, 2015 3 PM to 4:30 PM
Junior Ranger Camp
Get Outdoors Georgia
Wednesday, Jun 3, 2015 9 AM to 3 PM
Thursday, Jun 4, 2015 9 AM to 3 PM
Friday, Jun 5, 2015 9 AM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Labor Day Twilight Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Sep 4, 2015 8 PM to 9:30 PM

Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks