Watch Video

Check Last Minute Availability


» Mill Ruins Notice:
› To protect the historic mill ruins and maintain safety, access to the interior is closed to all visitors, including school trips, guided hikes and special events. Hikes to the exterior of the ruins are still available and encouraged. 
"The extraordinary beauty of the rugged hills, rocky outcrops, and rolling rapids of Sweetwater Creek have shaped centuries of history engaging you to reconnect with the natural world."

Sweetwater Creek State Park is a peaceful tract of wilderness only minutes from downtown Atlanta. A wooded trail follows the stream to the ruins of the New Manchester Manufacturing Company, a textile mill burned during the Civil War. Beyond the mill, the trail climbs rocky bluffs to provide views of the beautiful rapids below. Additional trails wind through fields and forest, showcasing ferns, magnolias, wild azaleas and hardwoods. Park rangers lead informative hikes to these areas throughout the year.

The 215-acre George Sparks Reservoir is popular for fishing and provides a pretty setting for feeding ducks and picnicking. However, there is no beach and swimming in the Reservoir is not allowed. Fishing supplies are available in the adjacent bait shop. During warmer months, the park rents fishing boats, canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddleboards and pedal boats. Visitors can join the Park Paddlers Club, which challenges them to explore waterways in six state parks. An award-winning Visitor Center—one of the most environmentally responsible buildings in the country—features exhibits on the area’s history, wildlife displays, trail maps, snacks and a renovated gift shop. A window-lined meeting room that seats 40 can be rented for gatherings.

Upcoming Events
Twilight Lake Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Aug 28, 2016 6:30 PM to 8 PM
Friday, Sep 2, 2016 6:30 PM to 8 PM
Sunday, Sep 4, 2016 6:30 PM to 8 PM
More Dates...
Sweetwater Creek by Kayak
Saturday, Sep 3, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
Saturday, Sep 3, 2016 5 PM to 7 PM
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 11 AM to 1 PM
More Dates...
Historic New Manchester Mill History Hike
Sunday, Sep 4, 2016 6 PM to 7:30 PM
Friday, Sep 23, 2016 6 PM to 7:30 PM
Geology Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 10 AM to 12 PM
Saturday, Oct 1, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Sweetwater Creek Canoe Cleanup
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Sep 11, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
"Almost-Full Moon" Night Paddle
Thursday, Sep 15, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
"Bark in the Park" Dog Hike
Friday, Sep 16, 2016 6 PM to 7 PM
Monday, Oct 10, 2016 10 AM to 11 AM
Full Moon Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Sep 16, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
National Public Lands Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM to 12 PM
Hidden Gem History Hike
Hidden Gem
Sunday, Oct 2, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Junior Ranger Day Camp Level I (Deer Patch)
Monday, Oct 10, 2016 10 AM to 3 PM
Junior Ranger Camp Level II (Fox Badge)
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2016 10 AM to 3 PM
Trails Work Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Nov 13, 2016 1 PM to 4 PM
Sunday, Dec 11, 2016 1 PM to 4 PM