Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
  • ParkPass
  • 2016 Parks Guide
Mountains
ZIP SEARCH:    
 
 

Watch Video

Check Last Minute Availability
» Mill Ruins Notice:
 To protect the historic mill ruins and maintain safety, access to the interior is closed to all visitors, including school trips, guided hikes and special events. Hikes to the exterior of the ruins are still available and encouraged. 
"The extraordinary beauty of the rugged hills, rocky outcrops, and rolling rapids of Sweetwater Creek have shaped centuries of history engaging you to reconnect with the natural world."

Sweetwater Creek State Park is a peaceful tract of wilderness only minutes from downtown Atlanta. A wooded trail follows the stream to the ruins of the New Manchester Manufacturing Company, a textile mill burned during the Civil War. Beyond the mill, the trail climbs rocky bluffs to provide views of the beautiful rapids below. Additional trails wind through fields and forest, showcasing ferns, magnolias, wild azaleas and hardwoods. Park rangers lead informative hikes to these areas throughout the year.
 
The 215-acre George Sparks Reservoir is popular for fishing and provides a pretty setting for feeding ducks and picnicking. However, there is no beach and swimming in the Reservoir is not allowed. Fishing supplies are available in the adjacent bait shop. During warmer months, the park rents fishing boats, canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddleboards and pedal boats. Visitors can join the Park Paddlers Club, which challenges them to explore waterways in six state parks. An award-winning Visitor Center—one of the most environmentally responsible buildings in the country—features exhibits on the area’s history, wildlife displays, trail maps, snacks and a renovated gift shop. A window-lined meeting room that seats 40 can be rented for gatherings.

Upcoming Events
Sweetwater Creek by Kayak
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 10:30 AM to 1 PM
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 2 PM to 4:30 PM
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 5:30 PM to 8 PM
More Dates...
Don't get Lost, get into Orienteering
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 3 PM to 5 PM
Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 3 PM to 5 PM
Stars of Sweetwater
Handicapped AccessibleGet Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jul 2, 2016 9 PM to 10 PM
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 9 PM to 10 PM
Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 9 PM to 10 PM
Clicks in the Night, a Batty Experience
Handicapped Accessible
Sunday, Jul 3, 2016 2 PM to 3:30 PM
Twilight Lake Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Jul 3, 2016 7:30 PM to 9 PM
Friday, Jul 8, 2016 7:30 PM to 9 PM
Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 7:30 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
"Bark in the Park" Dog Hike
Friday, Jul 8, 2016 7:30 PM to 9 PM
Friday, Jul 15, 2016 7 PM to 8:30 PM
Friday, Jul 22, 2016 7 PM to 8:30 PM
More Dates...
"Hidden Gem" Eastside Hike
Hidden Gem
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 9 AM to 12 PM
Geology Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jul 9, 2016 10 AM to 12 PM
Saturday, Aug 13, 2016 10 AM to 12 PM
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 10 AM to 12 PM
More Dates...
Introduction to Kayaking
Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 6 PM to 7:30 PM
Sweetwater Creek Canoe Cleanup
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Jul 17, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Sunday, Aug 21, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Sunday, Sep 11, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
"Almost-Full Moon" Night Paddle
Monday, Jul 18, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
Full Moon Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Tuesday, Jul 19, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
Junior Ranger Day Camp Level I (Deer Patch)
Thursday, Jul 21, 2016 9 AM to 2 PM
Children's Nature Hike
Thursday, Jul 28, 2016 10 AM to 12 PM
National Public Lands Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM to 12 PM
Hidden Gem History Hike
Hidden Gem
Sunday, Oct 2, 2016 1 PM to 3 PM
Trails Work Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Nov 13, 2016 10 AM to 1 PM
Sunday, Dec 11, 2016 10 AM to 1 PM

 Georgia State Park's Twitter Georgia State Park's Facebook Georgia State Park's Instagram Georgia State Park's PinterestGeorgia State Park's YouTube Georgia State Park's eNewsletter Georgia TourismAmerica's State Parks