Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
ZIP SEARCH:  go  
 


Check Last Minute Availability
   Wild Animal Safari Discount - (ongoing)
   Join the 400-Mile Challenge at FDR!

Winter Cottage Discount 25% off Fridays through Saturdays, and 30% off Sundays through Thursdays. January 5 – March 1, except MLK Holiday weekend. Ask for discount upon check-in. 

At 9,049 acres, Georgia’s largest state park is a hiker’s and backpacker’s haven.  More than 40 miles of trails, including the popular 23-mile Pine Mountain Trail, wind through hardwood and pines, over creeks and past small waterfalls.  Many visitors are surprised to find rolling mountains 80 miles southwest of Atlanta.  Above King’s Gap is Dowdell’s Knob where President Franklin D. Roosevelt sometimes picnicked and pondered world affairs.  A life-size sculpture of the president now welcomes visitors to the overlook.

Several park amenities were built by the Civilian Conservation Corps during the Great Depression, including cottages and the Liberty Bell Swimming Pool fed by cool springs. A wooded campground sits near the edge of a small fishing lake, and privately operated stables offer guided horseback rides.  In 1924, FDR came to this part of Georgia to swim in naturally warm springs that offered relief from polio.  Today, nearby Roosevelt’s Little White House Historic Site invites visitors to see his modest home, a museum and the pools that first drew him here.
 

Camera feed overlooking Pine Mountain Valley at FDR
WRBL TV Columbus

   School Programs at F. D. Roosevelt
               - F. D. Roosevelt School Program Application
   F. D. Roosevelt State Park Business Plan

Upcoming Events
Summer Woodlands Horse Trail Ride
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Apr 3, 2015 10:45 AM to 12 PM
Monday, May 25, 2015 10:45 AM to 12 PM
Reptile Review
Saturday, Apr 4, 2015 11 AM to 12 PM
Saturday, Apr 11, 2015 11 AM to 12 PM
Saturday, Apr 25, 2015 11 AM to 12 PM
American Frontier Days
Saturday, Apr 11, 2015 10 AM to 5 PM
Sunday, Apr 12, 2015 10 AM to 3 PM
Saturday, Nov 21, 2015 10 AM to 5 PM
More Dates...
Music & Dancing On the Mountain
Saturday, Apr 11, 2015 7 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Jun 20, 2015 7 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 10, 2015 7 PM to 9 PM
Pine Mountain Trail Workday
Saturday, Apr 18, 2015 10 AM to 3 PM
Saturday, May 16, 2015 10 AM to 3 PM
Saturday, Jun 20, 2015 10 AM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Pine Mountain Trail Hike
Saturday, May 2, 2015 10 AM to 2 PM
Mother's Day Picnic & Corn-Hole Tournament
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, May 10, 2015 1 PM to 4 PM
Bat Blitz
Friday, May 15, 2015 7 PM
National Kids To Park Day - Stream Hike
Saturday, May 16, 2015 1:30 PM to 3 PM
Liberty Bell Pool Party
Saturday, Jul 4, 2015 1 PM to 3 PM
Red Fox Fun Run
Tons of Fun
Saturday, Aug 29, 2015 7 AM
Bark In The Park Dog Luau
Saturday, Aug 29, 2015 5 PM to 7 PM

Free Mobile App! eNews GeorgiaAmerica's State Parks