Check Last Minute Availability


Beautiful Magnolia Springs State Park is known for its crystal clear springs flowing 7 million gallons per day. A boardwalk spans the cool water, allowing visitors to look for alligators, turtles and other wildlife near the springs. A small lake is available for fishing. Overnight guests can choose from cottages and a campground. Magnolia Springs State Park is part of the Muddy Spokes Club, encouraging bikers to finish a 3-mile loop and work toward earning a members-only t-shirt.

During the Civil War, this site was called Camp Lawton and served as “the world’s largest prison.” Today, little remains of the prison stockade; however, the earthen breastworks which guarded it may still be seen. During 2010, Georgia Southern University archaeology teams uncovered the stockade wall and numerous personal articles from soldiers. Their discovery has been heralded as one of the most significant finds in recent history. Artifacts are currently on display at the university and at the Camp Lawton museum located at Magnolia Springs State Park.

Upcoming Events
Zombie Archery
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, May 27, 2017 10 AM to 12 PM
Saturday, May 27, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
Saturday, Jun 10, 2017 1 PM to 3 PM
More Dates...
Memorial Day Scavenger Hunt and Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, May 28, 2017 10 AM to 12 PM
Memorial Day Hike
Monday, May 29, 2017 10 AM to 12 PM
Camp Lawton Memorial Day Tour
Monday, May 29, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
Stargazers Astronomy
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Jun 2, 2017 8 PM to 10 PM
Friday, Jul 7, 2017 8 PM to 10 PM
Full Moon Night Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Jun 9, 2017 8 PM to 10 PM
Sunday, Jul 9, 2017 8 PM to 10 PM
Monday, Aug 7, 2017 8 PM to 10 PM
More Dates...
Magnolia Springs Zombie Archery - Get Outdoors Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jun 10, 2017 1 PM to 3 PM
Magnolia Springs Nature Hike - Get Outdoors Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jun 10, 2017 4 PM to 6 PM
Father's Day Hike
Sunday, Jun 18, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
Barks in the Park Doggy Hike
Saturday, Jun 24, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
Saturday, Jul 15, 2017 10 AM to 12 PM
Your State Parks Day: Magnolia Springs Clean-up
Saturday, Sep 30, 2017 9 AM to 3 PM
Walk Amongst the Ghosts of Camp Lawton Tour
Saturday, Oct 7, 2017 7 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 14, 2017 7 PM to 9 PM
History and Haunts of Camp Lawton Tour
Saturday, Oct 21, 2017 6 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 28, 2017 6 PM to 9 PM