SPLASH PAD NOTICE: The Splash Pad will close for the season on October 3rd.

Check Last Minute Availability


Beautiful Magnolia Springs State Park is known for its crystal clear springs flowing 7 million gallons per day. A boardwalk spans the cool water, allowing visitors to look for alligators, turtles and other wildlife near the springs. A small lake is available for fishing. Overnight guests can choose from cottages and a campground. Magnolia Springs State Park is part of the Muddy Spokes Club, encouraging bikers to finish a 3-mile loop and work toward earning a members-only t-shirt.

During the Civil War, this site was called Camp Lawton and served as “the world’s largest prison.” Today, little remains of the prison stockade; however, the earthen breastworks which guarded it may still be seen. During 2010, Georgia Southern University archaeology teams uncovered the stockade wall and numerous personal articles from soldiers. Their discovery has been heralded as one of the most significant finds in recent history. Artifacts are currently on display at the university.

Upcoming Events
Walk Amongst the Ghosts of Camp Lawton Tour
Friday, Sep 30, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 1, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
Friday, Oct 7, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
History and Haunts of Camp Lawton Tour
Friday, Oct 14, 2016 6 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 6 PM to 9 PM
Friday, Oct 28, 2016 6 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
Full Moon Night Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
Monday, Nov 14, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
Tuesday, Dec 13, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
Orionids Meteor Shower Dark Sky Canoe Paddle
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Oct 21, 2016 to Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 10 PM
Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 to Sunday, Oct 23, 2016 10 PM
Outdoor Survival
Saturday, Nov 19, 2016 to Sunday, Nov 20, 2016 9 AM
Camp Lawton History Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 9 AM to 4 PM