Check Last Minute Availability


Beautiful Magnolia Springs State Park is known for its crystal clear springs flowing 7 million gallons per day. A boardwalk spans the cool water, allowing visitors to look for alligators, turtles and other wildlife near the springs. A small lake is available for fishing. Overnight guests can choose from cottages and a campground. Magnolia Springs State Park is part of the Muddy Spokes Club, encouraging bikers to finish a 3-mile loop and work toward earning a members-only t-shirt.

During the Civil War, this site was called Camp Lawton and served as “the world’s largest prison.” Today, little remains of the prison stockade; however, the earthen breastworks which guarded it may still be seen. During 2010, Georgia Southern University archaeology teams uncovered the stockade wall and numerous personal articles from soldiers. Their discovery has been heralded as one of the most significant finds in recent history. Artifacts are currently on display at the university and at the Camp Lawton museum located at Magnolia Springs State Park.

Upcoming Events
Outdoor Archery
Saturday, Jan 28, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
Zombie Archery
Saturday, Feb 4, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
Saturday, Feb 18, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 2 PM to 4 PM
More Dates...
Full Moon Night Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Feb 10, 2017 7 PM to 9 PM
Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 7 PM to 9 PM
Tuesday, Apr 11, 2017 8 PM to 10 PM
More Dates...
Love is in the "Scare" Valentine's Tour
Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 2 PM to 10 PM
Fish Tales: Kids Fishing Workshop
Soak It In
Saturday, Mar 25, 2017 1 PM to 4 PM
Easter Egg Hunt at Magnolia Springs
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Apr 15, 2017 10 AM to 12 PM
Earth Day Wilderness Clean-up
Saturday, Apr 22, 2017 9 AM to 3 PM
Summer Kick Off
Get Outdoors GeorgiaSoak It In
Saturday, May 20, 2017 10 AM to 3 PM
Nature Talk and Hike with the Naturalist
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Jun 3, 2017 9 AM to 12 PM
Your State Parks Day: Magnolia Springs Clean-up
Saturday, Sep 30, 2017 9 AM to 3 PM
Walk Amongst the Ghosts of Camp Lawton Tour
Saturday, Oct 7, 2017 7 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 14, 2017 7 PM to 9 PM
History and Haunts of Camp Lawton Tour
Saturday, Oct 21, 2017 6 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 28, 2017 6 PM to 9 PM