SPLASH PAD NOTICE: The Splash Pad will close for the season on September 19th.

Check Last Minute Availability


Beautiful Magnolia Springs State Park is known for its crystal clear springs flowing 7 million gallons per day. A boardwalk spans the cool water, allowing visitors to look for alligators, turtles and other wildlife near the springs. A small lake is available for fishing. Overnight guests can choose from cottages and a campground. Magnolia Springs State Park is part of the Muddy Spokes Club, encouraging bikers to finish a 3-mile loop and work toward earning a members-only t-shirt.

During the Civil War, this site was called Camp Lawton and served as “the world’s largest prison.” Today, little remains of the prison stockade; however, the earthen breastworks which guarded it may still be seen. During 2010, Georgia Southern University archaeology teams uncovered the stockade wall and numerous personal articles from soldiers. Their discovery has been heralded as one of the most significant finds in recent history. Artifacts are currently on display at the university.

Upcoming Events
Full Moon Night Hike
Get Outdoors Georgia
Friday, Sep 16, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 8 PM to 10 PM
Monday, Nov 14, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
Your State Parks Day - Magnolia Springs
Get Outdoors Georgia
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016 9 AM to 4 PM
Walk Amongst the Ghosts of Camp Lawton Tour
Friday, Sep 30, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 1, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
Friday, Oct 7, 2016 7 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
History and Haunts of Camp Lawton Tour
Friday, Oct 14, 2016 6 PM to 9 PM
Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 6 PM to 9 PM
Friday, Oct 28, 2016 6 PM to 9 PM
More Dates...
Camp Lawton History Day
Get Outdoors Georgia
Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 9 AM to 4 PM